Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Family Life

Remnants

by (author) Céline Huyghebaert

translated by Aleshia Jensen

Publisher
Book*hug Press
Initial publish date
Jun 2022
Category
Family Life, Literary, Contemporary Women
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781771667500
    Publish Date
    Jun 2022
    List Price
    $23.00

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

Remnants is an exploration of our relationships with family and perception, told through a profound investigation of a father's life and sudden death. With various voices and hybrid forms—including dialogues, questionnaires, photographs, and dream documentation—Huyghebaert builds a fragmented picture of a father-daughter relationship that has been shaped by silences and missed opportunities.

The reader attempts to untangle fact from fiction: multiple versions of Huyghebaert's father are presented while remnants of his life disappear achingly quickly. What is left of someone who was not important enough to be archived? How do we talk about what no longer exists?

Winner of the Governor General's Literary Award for French-language fiction, Remnants asks essential questions we often only peer at from the corner of an eye; questions about the value of life in its duration and passing. This is a transcendent work, ideal for readers of Annie Ernaux, Sophie Calle, and Maggie Nelson.

 

About the authors

Céline Huyghebaert is an artist and a writer. Her work, at the intersection of visual arts, language and literature, has been exhibited in France and Canada. In 2019, she won the Governor General's Award for her first novel, Le drap blanc, published by Le Quartanier, and she was awarded the Bronfman Fellowship in Contemporary Art. Born in France in 1978, she has been living in Montréal since 2002.

Céline Huyghebaert's profile page

Aleshia Jensen is a French-to-English literary translator and former bookseller living in Tio'tia:ke/Montréal. Her translations include Explosions by Mathieu Poulin, a finalist for the 2018 Governor General's Literary Award for Translation; Prague by Maude Veilleux, co-translated with Aimee Wall; as well as numerous graphic novels, including work by Julie Delporte, Catherine Ocelot, Mirion Malle, and Pascal Girard.

Aleshia Jensen's profile page

Awards

  • Winner, Governor General's Literary Award for French-language Fiction

Editorial Reviews

"Le drap blanc is a mausoleum... built from fragments and miscellaneous moments. Words and actions that could have been different, smells, dreams and daydreams; retellings and family dialogues recounted as though in shadow play—she has collected it all here... Céline Huyghebaert brings us a book that leaves a striking, lasting impression." —Xavier Houssin, Le Monde des Livres (Le Monde, France)

Other titles by Aleshia Jensen

Shiatsung Project, The

by (author) Brigitte Archambeault
translated by Aleshia Jensen

This is How I Disappear

by (author) Mirion Malle
translated by Aleshia Jensen & Bronwyn Haslam

Zenstudies: Making a Healthy Transition to Higher Education - Module 2 - Workshop 2. When the Blues Take Over - Participant's Workbook

Targeted-Selective Prevention Program

by (author) Diane Marcotte, Carole Viel, Marie-Laurence Paré, Cynthia Lamarre & Aleshia Jensen

Zenstudies: Making a Healthy Transition to Higher Education - Module 1 - Facilitator's Guide and Participant's Workbook

Universal Prevention Program

edited by Diane Marcotte, Cynthia Lamarre, Marie-Laurence Paré & Carole Viel
translated by Aleshia Jensen

Zenstudies: Making a Healthy Transition to Higher Education - Module 2 - Workshop 2. When the Blues Take Over - Participant's Workbook

Targeted-Selective Prevention Program

by (author) Diane Marcotte, Carole Viel, Marie-Laurence Paré, Cynthia Lamarre & Aleshia Jensen

Zenstudies: Making a Healthy Transition to Higher Education - Module 3 - Participant's Workbook

Targeted-Selective Prevention Program

by (author) Diane Marcotte, Carole Viel, Marie-Laurence Paré & Cynthia Lamarre
translated by Aleshia Jensen

Zenstudies: Making a Healthy Transition to Higher Education - Module 3 - Facilitator's Guide

Targeted-Selective Prevention Program

by (author) Diane Marcotte, Carole Viel, Marie-Laurence Paré & Cynthia Lamarre
translated by Aleshia Jensen

Zenstudies: Making a Healthy Transition to Higher Education - Module 2 - Facilitator's Guide

Targeted-Selective Prevention Program

by (author) Diane Marcotte, Carole Viel, Marie-Laurence Paré & Cynthia Lamarre
translated by Aleshia Jensen

The League of Super Feminists

by (author) Mirion Malle
translated by Aleshia Jensen

Still Crying for Help

Chronicle of a Therapeutic Failure Foretold

by (author) Sadia Messaili
translated by Aleshia Jensen