Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Biography & Autobiography Political

Ordinary People, Extraordinary Lives

Recipients of the Order of British Columbia

by (author) Goody Niosi

Heritage House Publishing
Initial publish date
May 2002
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    May 2002
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


The Order of British Columbia was established in 1989 to recognize and honour ordinary citizens who have made a difference in the lives of others.


Goody Niosi offers the stories of 17 of these recipients, from well-known people like Rick Hansen and Robert Bateman to lesser-known heroes, including Dr. Michael O'Shaughnessy, who has dedicated his life to AIDS research; Joan Acosta, who created the revolutionary newspaper The Westcoast Reader and helped adults acquire literacy and language skills; and Ric Careless, who has worked hard to ensure that precious wilderness areas are protected for future generations. Also showcased are Geraldine Braak, Dr. Leonel Perra, Dr. A. Hayward Rogers, Dr. Roger Tonkin, Grace Nielson, Hilda Gregory, Mel Cooper, Richard Hunt, Ross Purse, Takao Tanabe, Tim Frick and Merve Wilkinson.


The foreword is written by former Supreme Court Justice Allan McEachern.

About the author

Born in Karlsruhe, Germany, in 1949, Goody Niosi immigrated to Canada at age five and grew up in Ontario. Although she promised herself at age 10 that she would be a writer when she grew up, she didn't pursue that career until she was 49. Her first career was in the film industry, working as a film editor in Vancouver and Toronto. She also managed to travel around the world once and explore Europe several times. Goody writes for the Nanaimo Daily News, Harbour City Star and other publications, and lives above a country stable with her two dogs. She loves the outdoors and is involved in various community activities.


Please follow Goody on Twitter at @Oodgy.

Goody Niosi's profile page

Other titles by Goody Niosi