On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735267602_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Feb 2021
ISBN:9780735267602
publisher: Tundra

Maya's Big Scene

by Isabelle Arsenault

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
girls & women, friendship
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Feb 2021
ISBN:9780735267602
publisher: Tundra
Description

Maya's imagination sets the stage for her friends to act out her feminist play. Can she make room in her queendom for the will of the people? A funny picture book about leadership and fair play for fans of King Baby and Olivia.

Maya is a bossy, burgeoning playwright and loves to have the kids in her Mile End neighborhood bring her scenes to life. Her latest work, about a feminist revolution, is almost ready for public performance. But as her actors begin to express their costume preferences, Maya quickly learns that their visions may not match hers . . . and as both Director and Queen, Maya demands obedience and loyalty in her queendom of equality! But she soon realizes -- with the help of her friends and subjects -- that absolute bossiness corrupts absolutely!

Contributor Notes

ISABELLE ARSENAULT is a Montreal illustrator whose passion for illustrated books has earned her an impressive number of awards and distinctions, including three Governor General's Literary Awards for Children's Literature and a Joe Shuster Award for Outsanding Artist. She received the Bologna Ragazzi Award in 2017 and was Canada's illustrator nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Award in 2018 and 2020. Three of her picture books have been named New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Books of the Year. She received a bachelor's degree in graphic design from the Université du Québec à Montréal.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
4 to 8
Grade:
p to 3
Editorial Review

“Simultaneously supports social-emotional growth and celebrates collaborative creativity.” --Kirkus Reviews
"Children need to learn how to get along with one another; the jubilantly performative setting of this inventive book is a perfect expression of that truth.” --Imaginary Elevators

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Isabelle Arsenault

That Night's Train

That Night's Train

by Ahmad Akbarpour
illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault
translated by Majid Saghafi
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...