On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781770701960_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback eBook
category: Fiction
published: May 2005
ISBN:9781770701960
publisher: Dundurn

Loose Ends

A Jack Taggart Mystery

by Don Easton

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
crime, police procedural
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback eBook
category: Fiction
published: May 2005
ISBN:9781770701960
publisher: Dundurn
Description

Jack Taggart, an undercover Mountie, lives in a world where the good guys and the bad guys change places in a heartbeat. Taggart is very good at what he does. Too good to be playing by the rules. The brass decide to assign a new partner to spy on him.

Taggart's new partner discovers a society dependent upon unwritten rules. To break these rules is to lose respect. To lose respect is to lose one's life. Loose Ends is terrifying. It is a tale of violence, corruption, and retribution, but it is also a story of honour and respect.

About the Author

Don Easton worked as an undercover Mountie for twenty years, including seven years in an RCMP Intelligence Unit. He lives in Victoria, B.C.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Don Easton worked as an undercover Mountie for twenty years. He lived a life of false identities and with contracts on his life. He's witnessed horrific crimes - and made decisions as to who should live or die. Loose Ends depicts a realism that could be achieved only through real-life experiences.

Editorial Reviews

"While shining a light on the seedier side of life, Easton also provides and entertaining and worthwhile read."

— Black Press

"Easton never tips his hand as what's to come, leading the reader into the world of biker gangs, petty infighting and some truly brutal scenes of violence that will make the reader clamor for more."

— Bookgasm

"A gripping novel that is difficult to put down, Loose Ends is everything a mystery should be. At times it is a heart wrenching tale, and at others, a loathing epic of criminal unjust. For those of us who have lived always by the book, Easton shows us that the book sometimes needs to be set aside and that the rules sometimes need to bend. Sometimes the best way to bring justice to society is to break the law. Right or wrong, you can't help but feel the emotions and respect the motives of our main character."

— RCMP Quarterly

"Easton, who lives in Vancouver, spent a couple of decades working undercover for the RCMP. He clearly knows the world he writes about. The novel is realistic, with an attention to detail that pulls you right into the story. A very promising debut."

— Winnipeg Free Press

"Loose Ends is a slick first novel about a Mountie who works undercover, and its author, Don Easton, is a Mountie who worked undercover for 20 years. Thus we get a lot of verisimilitude and plenty of insider bits, all of which manage to gloss over some first-novelist glitches. Jack Taggart is our Mountie, and he lives in a fallen world where everything from your shoes to your name can be changed in an instant. What's slick about this story is that Taggart is under suspicion by his own force: The RCMP has set a spy on him in the form of a new partner. In the tradition of Training Day, Taggart is about to teach his new charge some tough life lessons. The dialogue is a bit clunky and, like many cop-turned-author, Easton tends to lard on the tough talk. But that's forgivable. We hope to see Taggart returning soon."

— The Globe & Mail

"The grime and grisliness portrayed in Loose Ends are solidly rooted in reality, but be prepared for some pretty shocking revelations about the length to which undercover agents go. The ending will blow you away."

— Star Phoenix

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Reading Lists Featuring “Loose Ends”

Other Titles by Don Easton

Angel in the Full Moon

Angel in the Full Moon

A Jack Taggart Mystery
edition:eBook
also available: eBook Paperback
More Info
Above Ground

Above Ground

A Jack Taggart Mystery
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback eBook
tagged : crime, suspense
More Info
Birds of a Feather

Birds of a Feather

A Jack Taggart Mystery
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback eBook
More Info
Samurai Code

Samurai Code

A Jack Taggart Mystery
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...