Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Drama Canadian

Life After God

The Play

by (author) Michael Lewis MacLennan

Playwrights Canada Press
Initial publish date
Jul 2007
Canadian, Faith
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jul 2007
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Out of print

This edition is not currently available in bookstores. Check your local library or search for used copies at Abebooks.


Centring around the eccentric, sensitive Scout, Life After God tells the story of six friends who went to high school together, and how their lives unravel fifteen years later as they face the challenges and disillusionment of adulthood. The friends search for purpose and meaning in a culture that's stuck in fast-forward. At turns funny and moving, Life After God is a freewheeling, theatrically spectacular examination of our quest for transcendence, dressed up in a tour of the city of seismic shifts—Vancouver.

About the author

Born in Vancouver, Michael Lewis MacLennan now divides his time between Toronto, Vancouver, and Los Angeles, working as a playwright, screenwriter, and TV producer. He is a two-time finalist for Canadaâ??s Governor Generalâ??s Literary Award, and the only playwright to win the Herman Voaden National Playwriting Award twice. His first play, Beat the Sunset, garnered Vancouverâ??s Jessie Richardson Award for outstanding emerging playwright and was the winner of the Theatrum National Playwriting Competition. Grace won the Theatre BC National Playwriting Competition and has been produced across Canada and internationally. His next two plays The Shooting Stage and Last Romantics both won the Voaden Prize and were Governor General Award nominees. As a screenwriter, Michael has been nominated five times for the Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Award. He was co-executive producer of Queer as Folk, and executive producer and creator of both Godivaâ??s and the new series jPod, based on Douglas Couplandâ??s novel.

Michael Lewis MacLennan's profile page

Other titles by Michael Lewis MacLennan