Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Emotions & Feelings

I Am a Peaceful Goldfish

by (author) Shoshana Chaim

illustrated by Lori Joy Smith

Publisher
Greystone Books Ltd
Initial publish date
Apr 2021
Category
Emotions & Feelings, New Experience, General
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781771646376
    Publish Date
    Apr 2021
    List Price
    $22.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 3 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3

Description

For kids ages 2-6, a gentle and fun introduction to mindfulness and breath awareness. 

When we are overcome with emotions, our breath—and a bit of imagination—can bring us back to a peaceful place. In I Am a Peaceful Goldfish, two children learn how to settle their difficult feelings with imaginative breathing techniques, pretending they are elephants, flowers, and even dragons! 

I Am a Peaceful Goldfish teaches kids essential and easy-to-learn life skills: 

  • It’s okay to feel overwhelmed or anxious!
  • Feeling calm and in control are just a couple of easy breaths away 
  • How to self-regulate and relieve anxiety 

A perfect book for readers of I Am Peace and I Am Yoga by Susan Verde.

About the authors

Shoshana Chaim's profile page

As a young girl Lori Joy Smith’s weekly trips to the children’s library with her father sparked her love of reading and children’s books. As a teenager she lived in Italy and visited some of the most beautiful museums in Europe, which left her wanting nothing more than to make art. Now she gets to put these two loves together everyday working as an artist and illustrator. She lives in Belfast, PEI with her husband, 2 girls, 3 cats, 2 bunnies, 1 dog, 2 sheep and 3 chickens. She loves making art, walking in the forest, watching the stars, drinking coffee, growing flowers and most of all reading to her own girls every night before they go to sleep. Visit her website at lorijoysmith.com

Lori Joy Smith's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“A playful way to introduce meditation to young readers who find themselves in stressful situations.”
Globe and Mail

“Toddlers, children, even adults can take a cue from the relaxed cat and other critters and objects that appear in this sweet book when strong emotions overwhelm us ... A great resource for parents and educators for teaching calming practices.”
School Library Journal

“A soothing, logical, and playful introduction to mindfulness for young listeners.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Engaging, brightly colored illustrations ... [two kids] attempt to imitate [goldfish] by inhaling slow, deep breaths and then letting them out ... eventually, end[ing] up with their hands clasped in front of their hearts, marveling at how serene they feel.”
Booklist

I Am a Peaceful Goldfish is a helpful aid for teaching the calm down strategy and in a way that is engaging.”
Canadian Review of Materials