On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443458542_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.99
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781443458542
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperAvenue

Five Wives

A Novel

by Joan Thomas

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
contemporary women, literary
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.99
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781443458542
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperAvenue
Description

In the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible and State of Wonder, a novel set in the rainforest of Ecuador about five women left behind when their missionary husbands are killed. Based on the shocking real-life events

In 1956, a small group of evangelical Christian missionaries and their families journeyed to the rainforest in Ecuador intending to convert the Waorani, a people who had never had contact with the outside world. The plan was known as Operation Auca. After spending days dropping gifts from an aircraft, the five men in the party rashly entered the “intangible zone.” They were all killed, leaving their wives and children to fend for themselves.

Five Wives is the fictionalized account of the real-life women who were left behind, and their struggles – with grief, with doubt, and with each other – as they continued to pursue their evangelical mission in the face of the explosion of fame that followed their husbands’ deaths.

Five Wives is a riveting, often wrenching story of evangelism and its legacy, teeming with atmosphere and compelling characters and rich in emotional impact.

 

About the Author

Joan Thomas

JOAN THOMAS’s first novel, Reading by Lightning, won the Amazon First Novel Award and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Book, and was longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, among other honours. Curiosity, her second novel, was also nominated for the IMPAC Award and was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her most recent novel, The Opening Sky, was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction. Thomas was the 2014 recipient of the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Prize for a writer in mid-career. She lives in Winnipeg.

Author profile page >
Editorial Review

“What a wonderful book! Joan Thomas takes us deep into Operation Auca and into the wild jungle of her characters’ hearts. This gorgeous, nuanced retelling offers up historical events in a new light and forces us to ask difficult and timely questions about colonialism, indigeneity, and faith.”

— Alison Pick, author of <em>Strangers with the Same Dream</em>

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...