On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780385686600_cover Enlarge Cover
4 of 5
1 rating
rated!
rated!
list price: $32
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback Paperback Paperback
category: Fiction
published: March 2016
ISBN:9780385686600
publisher: Doubleday Canada

Far From True

by Linwood Barclay

reviews: 1
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
suspense, thrillers, crime
4 of 5
1 rating
rated!
rated!
list price: $32
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback Paperback Paperback
category: Fiction
published: March 2016
ISBN:9780385686600
publisher: Doubleday Canada
Description

From the Canadian king of suspense comes this edge-of-your-seat thriller with a startling twist, for fans of Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner and Tami Hoag.
New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Linwood Barclay delivers the second spine-chilling thriller set in the troubled town of Promise Falls.
     After the screen of a run-down drive-in movie theater collapses and kills four people, the daughter of one of the victims asks private investigator Cal Weaver to look into a break-in at her father's house. Cal discovers a hidden room where salacious activities have taken place—as well as evidence of missing DVDs. But it may not be the discs the thief was interested in. . . .
     Meanwhile, Detective Barry Duckworth is still trying to solve two murders he believes are connected, since each featured a similar distinctive wound. And when yet another murder happens, Cal and Barry are both driven to pursue their investigations, no matter where they lead. But where they lead may be more horrific than either man can imagine.

Contributor Notes

LINWOOD BARCLAY is the New York Times and #1 international bestselling author of fourteen critically acclaimed novels, including Broken Promise, No Safe House, A Tap on the Window, Trust Your Eyes, which has been optioned for film, Never Look Away, which has been optioned for television, and No Time for Goodbye.

Editorial Review

#1 National Bestseller
"Excellent. Impossible to put down." —Stephen King

"Fans [of the Promise Falls trilogy] will love Far From True." —The Globe and Mail 

"In this excellent sequel to 2015's Broken Promise, bestseller Barclay's knack for realistic characterizations makes each person, even the nasty ones, stand out." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"[A] dark and dizzy tour de force . . . from one of the most reliable craftsmen in crime fiction." —Kirkus Reviews
"You can bet that Barclay—an international bestseller who counts Stephen King as a fan—will deliver the thrills." —Ottawa Citizen 

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Second in a Trilogy

I enjoyed this a lot more than the first book because now I'm aware going in that we are in the midst of a trilogy :-) And as such there is still no answer to the big mystery which started in the first book. We become a little wiser, but there are more questions than answers and during the overall plot there are some mini-arcs going on at the same time which do get resolved. One thing that I didn't really "get" with the first book because it frustrated me so much, and because I read Barclay's earlier books when they were first published which is quite some time ago, is what the author is actually doing with this series! The Promise Falls Trilogy is populated with characters from his previous books! When I started to think about this and pay attention to it, I became way more interested in who these characters actually were because I remembered their pasts that kept being referenced! The three books the main characters are taken from are: Too Close to Home, Never Look Away and A Tap on the Window.

There is a *lot* going on in this book. Barclay has to spend a good amount of time backtracking, like in any trilogy, reminding us what happened in the previous book. I sometimes find that annoying (especially in fantasies) but in a mystery this intricate it was essential for me! I haven't got a clue who the ultimate villain is going to be as everybody I've put my money on so far has ended up dead. So all bets are off as far as I'm concerned and I can't wait for the last book to see how Barclay ties all these loose ends together!

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...