Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Literary

Blood Girls, The

by (author) Méira Cook

NeWest Press
Initial publish date
May 1998
Literary, General
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    May 1998
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


At Easter in a small Manitoba town, little Donna Desjardins begins bleeding from her palms, then the soles of her feet, and then around the crown of her head. In The Blood Girls, Cook examines how lives are affected when the world reacts to the extraordinary with fear and suspicion.

About the author

Méira Cook is the award-winning author of the novels The House on Sugarbush Road, which won the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award, and Nightwatching, which won the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction. She has also published five poetry collections, most recently Monologue Dogs, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Lansdowne Prize for Poetry and for the 2016 McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award. She won the CBC Poetry Prize in 2007 and the inaugural Walrus Poetry Prize in 2012. In 2011 she served as Writer in Residence at the University of Manitoba’s Centre for Creative Writing and Oral Culture, and was the 2013–14 Writer in Residence at the Winnipeg Public Library. Born and raised in Johannesburg, South Africa, she now lives in Winnipeg.

Méira Cook's profile page

Other titles by Méira Cook