Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Short Stories (single Author)

Anton Chekhov was Never in Charlottetown

by (author) J.J. Steinfeld

Gaspereau Press Ltd.
Initial publish date
Jun 2000
Short Stories (single author)
  • Leather / fine binding

    Publish Date
    Jun 2000
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jun 2000
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Out of print

This edition is not currently available in bookstores. Check your local library or search for used copies at Abebooks.


Insignificant events often acquire an emblematic quality as we struggle with the past, attempting to establish a workable understanding of what it means to be human in a modern context. In his fiction, J. J. Steinfeld details life’s tragic, often absurd moments in a voice that is at once compassionate and unsentimental. These twenty new stories expand the Steinfeld canon to nine collections of fiction, including one novel, Our Hero in the Cradle of Confederation, and the award winning short-story collection Dancing at the Club Holocaust.

About the author

Poet, fiction writer, and playwright J. J. Steinfeld lives on Prince Edward Island, where he is patiently waiting for Godot’s arrival and a phone call from Kafka. While waiting, he has published twenty-two books: two novels, Our Hero in the Cradle of Confederation (1987) and Word Burials (2009), thirteen short story collections—The Apostate's Tattoo (1983), Forms of Captivity and Escape (1988), Unmapped Dreams (1989), The Miraculous Hand and Other Stories (1991), Dancing at the Club Holocaust (1993), Disturbing Identities (1997), Should the Word Hell be Capitalized? (1999), Anton Chekhov was Never in Charlottetown (2000), Would You Hide Me? (2003), A Glass Shard and Memory (2010), Madhouses in Heaven, Castles in Hell (2015), An Unauthorized Biography of Being (2016), and Gregor Samsa Was Never in The Beatles (2019)—and seven poetry collections, An Affection for Precipices (2006), Misshapenness (2009), Identity Dreams and Memory Sounds (2014), Absurdity, Woe Is Me, Glory Be (2017), A Visit to the Kafka Café (2018), Morning Bafflement and Timeless Puzzlement (2020), and Somewhat Absurd, Somehow Existential (2021).

J.J. Steinfeld's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“For Steinfeld, comedy is no anesthetic; rather, it sharpens the delirium of pain. These 20 stories attest to the Dadaist courage of a writer who insists on throwing honour in front of every laughing face.” George Elliott Clarke, Halifax Sunday Herald

Other titles by