On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781770414709_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9781770414709
publisher: ECW Press

Afterlife Crisis

by Randal Graham

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
humorous
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9781770414709
publisher: ECW Press
Description

 

For readers of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, and P.G. Wodehouse, and fans of The Good Place – a tongue in cheek fantasy that imagines Isaac Newton in the afterlife.

Where do you go after you die? Detroit.

“Finally, a hitchhiker's guide to the hereafter.” — Corey Redekop, author of Husk

Something’s rotten in the afterlife. At least that’s how it seems to Rhinnick Feynman, the one man who perceives that someone in the afterlife is tugging at history’s threads and retroactively unraveling the past. Doing his best to navigate a netherworld in which history won’t stop changing for the worse, Rhinnick sets off on a quest to put things right.

This would be a good deal easier if Rhinnick didn’t believe he was a character in a novel and that the Author was changing the past through editorial revision. And it’d be better if Rhinnick didn’t find himself facing off against Isaac Newton, Jack the Ripper, Ancient Egyptians, a pack of frenzied Napoleons, and the prophet Norm Stradamus. Come to think of it, it’d be nice if Rhinnick could manage to steer clear of the afterlife’s mental health establishment and a bevy of unexpected fiancées.

Undeterred by these terrors, Rhinnick recognizes himself as The Man the Hour Produced, and the only one equipped to outwit the forces of science and mental health.

 

Contributor Notes

Randal Graham is a law professor at Western University, where his teaching and research focus on ethics and legal language. His first novel, Beforelife, won the IPPY gold medal for fantasy fiction and was a top ten finalist for the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour. Graham’s books on law and legal theory have been assigned as mandatory reading at universities across Canada and have been cited by judges on all levels of court, including the Supreme Court of Canada and the U.S. Supreme Court. He lives in London, Ontario.

Editorial Review

 

“Filled with wordplay to die for, Randal Graham's latest dizzying, irresistible life-after-death satire tackles perennial existential questions with humor and hunger.” — Foreword Reviews

“Fans of wacky doings and zippy dialogue are sure to be entertained.” — Publishers Weekly

“When I worked with Randal Graham at the Goodmans law firm he showed few signs of zaniness, let alone P.G. Wodehouse on steroids. But zounds he shows all of the above and more in the story of Rhinnick and Vera. We are all better for The Other Side of Randal.” — Bob Rae, 21st Premier of Ontario and author of From Protest to Power

“Randal Graham has written an inventive and hilarious tale packed with such witty prose that P.G. Wodehouse is surely applauding from his own afterlife. Strap in for a wild and funny ride.” — Terry Fallis, two-time winner of the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour

“Like Terry Pratchett's Discworld and Douglas Adams' entire Galaxy, the post-death realm of Randal Graham's Detroit is a zany mélange of puns, incisive social commentary, dry wit, and more plot twists that you can reasonably waggle your stick at. I don't claim to know what will happen after my expiration date, but considering how terrible real life is of late I dearly hope my afterlife will be as enjoyable as Detroit.” — Corey Redekop, author of Husk

 

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Afterlife Crisis”

Other Titles by Randal Graham

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...