On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781501179105_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $8.87 USD
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Audiobook
category: Fiction
published: June 2019
ISBN:9781501179105
publisher: Simon & Schuster

Your Life Is Mine

by Nathan Ripley

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
crime, psychological, suspense
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $8.87 USD
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Audiobook
category: Fiction
published: June 2019
ISBN:9781501179105
publisher: Simon & Schuster
Description

Instant national bestseller Nathan Ripley follows up the success of Find You in the Dark with another suspenseful page-turnerthis time about a woman whose notorious father died when she was a child, but whose legacy comes back to haunt her.

Blanche Potter never expected to face her past again—but she can’t escape it.

Blanche, an up-and-coming filmmaker, has distanced herself in every way she can from her father, the notorious killer and cult leader, Chuck Varner. In 1996, when she was a small child, he went on a shooting spree before turning the gun on himself.

Now, Blanche learns that her mother has been murdered. She returns to her childhood home, where she soon discovers there’s more to the death than police are willing to reveal. The officer who’s handling the case is holding information back, and a journalist who’s nosing around the investigation is taking an unusual interest in Blanche’s family.

Blanche begins to suspect that Chuck Varner’s cult has found a new life, and that her mother’s murder was just the beginning of the cult’s next chapter.

Then another killing occurs.

About the Author
Nathan Ripley is the pseudonym of Journey Prize–winner Naben Ruthnum. Ruthnum lives in Toronto. Visit him at NabenRuthnum.com or follow him on Twitter @NabenRuthnum.
Author profile page >
Editorial Reviews

“A fast-paced book . . . akin to dark British crime TV dramas such as Broadchurch or Luther, satisfyingly sinister and unsettling in their explorations of the violent possibilities of humanity.”

— The Globe and Mail

“Crafty and dark, Nathan Ripley’s novel toys with the lines between predator and prey, his sentences as careful and considered as the crimes he depicts. Ripley is a truly exciting new voice in the thriller world.”

— Roz Nay, bestselling author of Our Little Secret

“[A] gripping debut thriller. . . . Dexter fans will enjoy the creepy vibe.”

— Publishers Weekly

“A wickedly smart thriller that manages to be both chilling and wry. The page-turning plot . . . is thickened by a great cast of characters and Nathan Ripley’s fantastic eye for detail and dialogue. Just when you think you’ve got a grasp on it, the story twists to new and darker places.”

— Amy Stuart, bestselling author of Still Mine

“An unsettling exploration of obsession you won’t soon forget. Nathan Ripley delivers a first novel that fans of Patricia Highsmith psychological thrills and Thomas Harris cat-and-mouse suspense will devour. I certainly did.”

— Andrew Pyper, author of The Demonologist and The Only Child

“Engrossing. . . . This debut thriller by the pseudonymous Ripley (Journey Prize winner Naben Ruthnum) is highly recommended for fans of Lee Child and C.J. Box.”

— Library Journal

“It’s not always easy diving into the mind of an obsessive protagonist, but Martin Reese’s fixation on finding dead bodies makes for one heck of an addictive thriller. Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley is an original, inventive take on what happens when you go looking where you shouldn’t. Start reading early in the day, or you’ll be up all night like I was! A standout debut novel.”

— Jennifer Hillier, author of Jar of Hearts and Wonderland

“Ripley’s debut offers a twist on the typical serial-killer story. . . . A unique spin with just enough creepy details to keep suspense readers interested.” 

— Booklist

“Ripley . . . has come up with a fresh angle to the serial murder game. . . . Clever and diabolical . . . this unusual debut thriller has a lot going for it.”

— Kirkus Reviews

“A fast-paced, morbidly addictive novel of chilling infatuation. Ripley’s impressive debut is a rich and innovative thriller.” 

— Iain Reid, bestselling author of I'm Thinking of Ending Things

Praise for Find You in the Dark

“A well-crafted crime novel that proves utterly absorbing. . . . with vivid scenes and complex psychology, Find You in the Dark lingers long after the last page has been devoured. And Ripley proves a stellar addition to the Canadian crime novel scene. An addictive debut.”

— Toronto Star

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...