On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771646079_interior Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Hardcover
published: May 2021
ISBN:9781771646079

We All Play

illustrated by Julie Flett

reviews: 0
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Hardcover
published: May 2021
ISBN:9781771646079
Description

From Julie Flett, the beloved author and illustrator of Birdsong, comes a joyous new book about playtime for babies, toddlers, and kids up to age 7, perfect for fans of But First, We Nap. 

Animals and kids love to play! This wonderful bookcelebrates diversity and the interconnectedness of nature through an Indigenous perspective, complete with a glossary of Cree words for wild animals at the back of the book, and children repeating a Cree phrase throughout the book. Readers will encounter birds who chase and chirp, bears who wiggle and wobble, whales who swim and squirt, owls who peek and peep, and a diverse group of kids who love to do the same, shouting: 

We play too! / kimêtawânaw mîna

A beautiful ode to the animals and humans we share our world with, We All Play belongs on every bookshelf.

Praise for Julie Flett’s Birdsong: 

An American Indian Youth Literature Honor Title 

A 2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor Title 

A Best Book of 2019 in Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, and Horn Book. 

“Cree-Métis author/illustrator Julie Flett's smooth and lyrical words and gorgeous... images truly capture the warmth and solidarity of the female protagonists in this tender intergenerational friendship story.”The Horn Book 

“Emotionally stunning.”Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

“Simple and profound, this tender story is a reminder that finding a new friend can make a new place feel like home. Highly recommended for purchase.”—School Library Journal (Starred Review)

“Flett’s subtle, sensitive story delicately traces filaments of growth and loss through intergenerational friendship, art making, and changing moons and seasons.”Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

About the Author

Julie Flett studied fine arts at Concordia University in Montreal and Emily Carr University of Art + Design in Vancouver. She won the Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature for her work on When We Were Alone by David Robertson, and her book Birdsong won the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award and was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Award. She is the three-time recipient of the Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Award for Owls See Clearly at Night: A Michif Alphabet, Dolphin SOS and My Heart Fills With Happiness. Julie is Cree and Métis and lives in Vancouver.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

JULIE FLETT, a Cree-Métis author, illustrator, and artist, has received numerous awards for her work, including a Governor General’s Award and the American Indian Library Association Award. She is the author of many books, including Birdsong (Greystone Kids, 2019), an American Indian Youth Literature Honor Book and Boston Globe Horn Book Title.Flett lives in Vancouver, Canada.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
0 to 7
Grade:
p to 2

Buy this book at:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Julie Flett

My Heart Fills With Happiness / Ni Mîyawâten Niteh Ohcih

My Heart Fills With Happiness / Ni Mîyawâten Niteh Ohcih

by Monique Gray Smith
illustrated by Julie Flett
translated by Mary Collins
edition:eBook
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...