On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781770495531_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2017
ISBN:9781770495531
publisher: Tundra

Under-the-Bed Fred

by Linda Bailey, illustrated by Colin Jack

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
chapter books, friendship, monsters
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2017
ISBN:9781770495531
publisher: Tundra
Description

From the team who brought you If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur comes a laugh-out-loud early chapter book about befriending the monster under the bed.

There's a monster under Leo's bed making a ruckus every night. When Leo needs to go to the bathroom, he leaps from the bed to the door -- careful not to put his feet on the floor within the monster's reach. But one night Leo gets tired of being scared and boldly calls out to the monster to see if they can't just work something out. Surprisingly, the monster listens, and Leo finds out that even enormous monsters have fears! Leo and his monster, Fred, team up to face their fears, each with his own unique strengths. Over the course of five easy-to-read chapters, their friendship blooms as they face everything from bullies to bedbugs. A funny and endearing tale of two very different and unlikely friends, in the tradition of Bink and Gollie and Frog and Toad.

Contributor Notes

LINDA BAILEY is the author of more than two dozen books for children, including If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur, When Santa Was a Baby and Seven Dead Pirates. She is the recipient of numerous awards across North America, including the California Young Reader Medal, the Georgia Children's Picturebook Award and the Ontario Blue Spruce and Silver Birch Awards. Born in Winnipeg, Linda has traveled around the world, and so have her books. She now lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.

COLIN JACK is the illustrator of a number of books for children, including If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur, the Galaxy Zack series and 1 Zany Zoo. He also works as a story artist and character designer in the animation industry, and has been involved in productions such as Hotel Transylvania, Grossology and Ed, Edd n Eddy. Born in Vancouver, Colin currently resides in Redwood City, California, with his wife and two sons.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
6 to 8
Grade:
1 to 3
Awards
  • Short-listed, Chocolate Lily Award
Editorial Review

An Amazon "Best of the Month" Pick (September 2017)
One of CCBC’S Best Books for Kids & Teens (2018)

"A boy tackles his under-the-bed nighttime monster and his insecurities with curiosity, kindness, and a bit of wisdom. . . . In the first of a new series, this [book] incorporates themes of friendship, bullying, and school angst, offers satisfying conclusions, and gives readers good reason to empathize with Leo and his alter ego, Fred. A welcome new pair of friends for the chapter-book set." --Kirkus Reviews
"[A]ward-winning children’s author Linda Bailey and Vancouver-born illustrator Colin Jack have whipped up five engaging, funny, and non-intimidating short chapters." --Quill & Quire
"4/4… a satisfying story… Under-the-Bed Fred is a sure winner… Highly recommended." --CM Magazine

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...