On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780358067757_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9780358067757

Under Shifting Stars

by Alexandra Latos

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
death & dying
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9780358067757
Description

This heartfelt novel for fans of Jandy Nelson and Adam Silvera follows twins Audrey and Clare as they grapple with their brother's death and their changing relationships-with each other and themselves.
 
Audrey’s  best  friend  was  always  her  twin,  Clare.  But   as   they   got   older,   they   grew   apart,   and   when   their  brother  Adam  died,  Clare  blamed  Audrey  for  the  accident.  Now,  Audrey’s  attending  an  alternative  school  where  she  feels  more  isolated  than  ever.  Tired  of being seen as different from her neurotypical peers, Audrey’s   determined   to   switch   to   the   public   high   school,  rebuild  her  friendship  with  Clare,  and  atone  for  Adam’s  death  .  .  .  but  she’ll  need  to  convince  her  parents, and her therapist, first.

Clare knows her sister thinks she’s the perfect twin, but Audrey doesn’t realize that Clare’s “popular” status is crumbling—she’s begun to question old friendships, dress  in  Adam’s  clothes,  and  wonder  what  feelings  for  a  nonbinary  classmate,  Taylor,  might  mean.  As  she  grapples with not only grief but also her gender fluidity, Clare  wonders  where  she’ll  belong  if  she  sheds  her  carefully constructed image and embraces her true self.
 
Will first crushes, new family dynamics, and questions of identity prove that Audrey and Clare have grown too different to understand each other-or that they've needed each other all along?

 

Contributor Notes

Alexandra Latos lives in Alberta, Canada with her husband and children. This is her first young adult novel. Visit her at alexandralatos.com, or on Twitter and Instagram @alexandralatos. 

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
12 to 100
Grade:
7 to 17
Editorial Review

A Junior Library Guild Selection

"Highly relatable... an accurate and gut-wrenching depiction of the uncertainty of growing up and finding oneself. "—Kirkus
"Highly recommended. Give this to readers who are looking for issues-based fiction and anyone who enjoys getting into a character’s head."—School Library Journal

"Sharply observed, laugh-out-loud funny, and entirely necessary;Under Shifting Stars shines like a supernova." - Ashley Little, author of Confessions of a Teenage Leper

"Luminous and lovely, heart-breaking and ultimately hopeful, this shimmering new novel explores how to be ourselves in a hard world." - Alice Kuipers, author of Life on the Refrigerator Door

"A gutting and exquisite portrait of resilience in the face of grief,Under Shifting Starsrenders the complexities of life and love as twins struggle to find themselves and the connection they've lost. Audrey and Clare are achingly real with voices that are masterfully distinct. Suspended in melodic prose that had my heart aching to the very end, Latos renders hope in a novel that is unlike anything I've ever read." - Heather Ezell, author ofNothing Left to Burn 

"Under Shifting Stars traces both the burgeoning assurance and the wonderous self-deception of two siblings. Clare and Audrey, twins but not-quite twins, are caught in that awkward traffic circle when teenagers go around and around, testing their dreams and unwrapping their potential.... a mesmerizing story." - Aritha van Herk, author and professor at the University of Calgary 

 

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...