On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771660945_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $18.00
edition:Paperback
category: Poetry
published: Apr 2015
ISBN:9781771660945
publisher: Book*hug Press

their biography

an organism of relationships

by Kevin Eckhoff

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
canadian, family
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $18.00
edition:Paperback
category: Poetry
published: Apr 2015
ISBN:9781771660945
publisher: Book*hug Press
Description

Would it be possible to compose a book that appears to be "about" its author, but is indirectly about something else, like identity or relationships or language? Maybe a book not written by a hero... but by many?

This was the challenge taken up by Kevin McPherson Eckhoff in his fourth book, their biography: an organism of relationships. This collaborative memoir collages together word-portraits from friends, family, coworkers, strangers, robots, and even adversaries in order to create a silhouette of not a single person, but of the manacles that connect people to one another.

their biography is meant to make people think--it's broad array of voices and poetic/prosaic forms disturbs comfortable patterns of reading, and its subject is as much about the contributors as the author. Eclectic and desolate, confessional and dubious, this record of relationships defies authorship, biography, and individualism.

Fans of Gregory Betts's "Facebook Poem Project" or Rachel Zolf's Tolerance Project, along with anyone compelled by contemporary poetry and conceptual art, will connect with this pixelated investigation into identity, and the true meaning of 'self' as we and others define it.

About the Author

Kevin Eckhoff


kevin mcpherson eckhoff is the author of rhapsodomancy (Coach House), and easy peasy (Snare). His work has been featured in Boredom Fighters (Tightrope) and Rogue Stimulus (Mansfield), as well as several international journals, including Descant, West Wind Review, Fact*Simile, Rampike, and offerta speciale. He lives and writes in Armstrong, British Columbia.

Author profile page >
Editorial Review

Praise for Their Biography:
"It might be the best autobiography not written by its subject, and it's certainly the funniest." - Jonathan Ball for This Magazine
Sometime between the time he was born and the fascimile he is now, kevin figured out that it's possible to change one's privileged nature by changing one's use. So, 'Use me' is what Their Biography begs - and by invoking this interconsumption of friendship and social cannibalism, kevin can only present kevin as a decommissioned object, sinking under the burden of an impossible individuality, yawning into the surreal latex of his own umbilical cord as he struggles to emerge. It's exactly this that makes Their Biography so deliciously malicious. - Trisha Low, author of The Compleat Purge

Buy this book at:

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “their biography”

Other Titles by Kevin Eckhoff

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...