On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781101918326_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.99
edition:Hardcover
published: June 2017
ISBN:9781101918326
publisher: Tundra

The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library

by Linda Bailey, illustrated by Victoria Jamieson

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
books & libraries, insects, spiders, etc.
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.99
edition:Hardcover
published: June 2017
ISBN:9781101918326
publisher: Tundra
Description

Eddie, a passionate reader and a shiny green bug, saves the school library in this funny, heartwarming tale that fans of Flora & Ulysses and Charlotte's Web will love.

Eddie is a tiny green bug who loves to read and who lives behind the chalkboard in Mr. Wang's fourth-grade classroom with his parents, his 53 brothers and sisters, and his Aunt Min. But when Aunt Min goes to the school library and never returns, Eddie leaves the comfort of his home for the first time and begins the dangerous trek through the elementary school. After dodging running sneakers, falling books, and terrifying spiders, Eddie reaches the library, where he finds Aunt Min stuck on a desk with two broken legs! To top it all off, there's a substitute librarian who has terrible plans to close the library and turn it into a local testing center. No more books at all! Encouraged by the brave deeds done by small creatures like Stuart Little and Charlotte from Charlotte's Web, Eddie comes up with a plan to save the library--a plan that requires all the courage one little bug can muster. Perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein's Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library and Lynne Rae Perkins' Nuts to You. Featuring extensive black and white art from Newbery Honor Medalist and New York Times bestseller Victoria Jamieson as well as references to classic children's literature sprinkled throughout.

Contributor Notes

LINDA BAILEY is a bestselling and award-winning children's writer with more than 25 books to her credit. She is the author of If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur, When Santa Was a Baby, Seven Dead Pirates and the beloved Stanley-the-dog series. She has won awards across North America including the California Young Readers' Medal, the Georgia Storybook Award, the Ontario Blue Spruce and Silver Birch Awards, the Oregon SMART Award and the Arthur Ellis Award. Her books have been translated into 16 languages and optioned for film and television. The author lives in Vancouver, BC.

VICTORIA JAMIESON is the author and illustrator of the Newbery Honor book Roller Girl. She has written and illustrated several picture books, and is the illustrator of Jody Feldman's Gollywhopper Games series, as well as Svetlana Chmakova's graphic novelAwkward. Jamieson attended the Rhode Island School of Design and worked as a book designer at HarperCollins Children's Books before moving to Portland, Oregon with her husband. She now teaches children's book illustration at Pacific Northwest College of Art and maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers roller derby league.Victoria Jamieson lives in Portland, OR.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
7 to 10
Grade:
2 to 5
Editorial Review

Huffington Post Canada Selection: "Great Books for Kids in Summer 2017"

"The premise is fantastic." --Huffington Post Canada
"Rich with references to familiar tales and accompanied by realistic illustrations by Newbery honoree Jamieson, this effort will charm library lovers and would make a fine read-aloud, as brave, endearing Eddie navigates one terrible peril after another. An excellent, engaging tale for a broad range of ages." --Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR Seven Dead Pirates:
"This rollicking tale moves apace with a vivid setting, surprising depth, great humor, and memorable characters. Readers will root for Lewis as he finds his sea legs and the courage to make friends, both spectral and human. VERDICT Ahoy, ye maties: don't miss this treasure of a middle grade yarn." --Starred Review, School Library Journal

"Bailey endows Lewis with several scene-stealing allies (notably a fierce kindergartener) and leaves him confidently steering a course toward calm waters. Piratical fun well-stocked with colorful cast members living and arrghh." --Starred Review, Kirkus

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...