Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Literary

The Robber Bride

by (author) Margaret Atwood

McClelland & Stewart
Initial publish date
Dec 2016
Literary, General
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Feb 1999
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 1998
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Dec 2016
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


This is the wise, unsettling, drastic story of three women whose lives share a common wound: Zenia, a woman they first met as university students in the sixties. Zenia is smart and beautiful, by turns manipulative, vulnerable – and irresistible. She has entered into their separate lives to ensnare their sympathy, betray their trust, and exploit their weaknesses. Now Zenia, thought dead, has suddenly reappeared. In this richly layered narrative, Atwood skilfully evokes the decades of the past as she retraces three women’s lives, until we are back in the present – where it’s yet to be discovered whether Zenia’s “pure, free-wheeling malevolence” can still wreak havoc. The Robber Bride reports from the farthest reaches of the sex wars and is one of Margaret Atwood’s most intricate and subversive novels yet.

From the Hardcover edition.

About the author

Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa and grew up in northern Ontario, Quebec, and Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree from Radcliffe College.
Throughout her writing career, Margaret Atwood has received numerous awards and honourary degrees. She is the author of more than fifty volumes of poetry, children’s literature, fiction, and non-fiction and is perhaps best known for her novels, which include The Edible Woman (1970), The Handmaid's Tale (1983), The Robber Bride (1994), Alias Grace (1996), and The Blind Assassin, which won the prestigious Booker Prize in 2000. Atwood's dystopic novel, Oryx and Crake, was published in 2003. The Tent (mini-fictions) and Moral Disorder (short stories) both appeared in 2006. Her most recent volume of poetry, The Door, was published in 2007. Her non-fiction book, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth, part of the Massey Lecture series, appeared in 2008, and her most recent novel, The Year of the Flood, in the autumn of 2009. Ms. Atwood's work has been published in more than forty languages, including Farsi, Japanese, Turkish, Finnish, Korean, Icelandic and Estonian. In 2004 she co-invented the Long Pen TM.
Margaret Atwood currently lives in Toronto with writer Graeme Gibson. 

Margaret Atwood's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“Atwood has never written better than in this novel of glittering breadth and dark, eerie depths.”
The Sunday Times (U.K.)
“A remarkable achievement, constantly entertaining and intriguing.”
The Ottawa Citizen

“Deserves every superlative we can muster from hilarious to wise.…A genuine tour de force, witty and original, suspenseful and sagacious.”
“Funny, thoughtful, moving…Atwood’s plotting is masterful, and her humor is razor-edged, sexy, and raucous.”
Washington Post

“Nobody maps female psychic territory the way Margaret Atwood does.…What a treasure she is.”

“A hugely enjoyable novel.”
Globe and Mail
“Imaginative and suspenseful…a virtuoso performance.”
Publishers Weekly
“Wickedly funny…witty…well-observed.”
Observer (U.K.)

“Brilliant and entertaining.”
Boston Sunday Globe
“Grabs the funny bone, the brain, and sometimes the throat.”
–Kingston Whig-Standard

“Brilliant and entertaining.”
Ottawa Sun
“Startling, provocative and rewarding.”
Canadian Forum
“Excitements, wit, and insight sizzle across the pages. Atwood’s survey of impulses that bedevil life seethes with imagination, inventiveness and intelligence.”
-Peter Kemp

“Compelling and astonishingly rich…”
Books in Canada

From the Hardcover edition.

Other titles by

Related lists