Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Literary Collections Canadian

The Return of the Sphinx

by (author) Hugh MacLennan

read by Daniel Michael Karpenchuk

McGill-Queen’s University Press
Initial publish date
Apr 2022
  • Downloadable audio file

    Publish Date
    Apr 2022
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it



Alan Ainslie is an able and dedicated man high in the government. Daniel Ainslie, his son, is a member of an explosive movement impelled by the naive rebelliousness of the New Left. Hugh MacLennan weaves a complex and story of two generations in conflict. Originally published in 1967, Return of the Sphinx is something of a sequel to the more optimistic Two Solitudes and reflects MacLennan's disenchantment with the world in general and the apparently intractable French-English debate in Canada.


About the authors

Born in Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Hugh MacLennan (1907-1990) taught at McGill University from 1951 to 1981 and wrote novels and essays that helped define Canadian literature. His novels include Barometer Rising (1941), Two Solitudes (1945), Each Man's Son (1951), The Watch That Ends the Night (1959), Return of the Sphinx (1967), and Voices in Time (1980). He also published several nonfiction works, including Cross Country (1949), Thirty and Three (1955), The Scotchman’s Return and Other Essays (1960), and The Colour of Canada (1967).

Hugh MacLennan's profile page

Daniel Michael Karpenchuk's profile page

Other titles by Hugh MacLennan