Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Contemporary Women

The Other Daughter

by (author) Caroline Bishop

Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Initial publish date
Jan 2023
Category
Contemporary Women, Historical, 20th Century
  • Downloadable audio file

    ISBN
    9781471191862
    Publish Date
    Feb 2021
    List Price
    $19.99 USD
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781982196943
    Publish Date
    Jan 2023
    List Price
    $7.92 USD
  • Downloadable audio file

    ISBN
    9781668004654
    Publish Date
    Jan 2023
    List Price
    $26.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781982196936
    Publish Date
    Jan 2023
    List Price
    $24.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

A timely novel about an ambitious London journalist who reports on the fight for women’s rights in 1970s Switzerland, and the daughter who uncovers the long-buried truth about the assignment years later—for fans of Genevieve Graham and Heather Marshall.

2016

Jess is at a crossroads in life. In her late thirties, all she has to show for it is a broken marriage and a job teaching a bunch of uninterested kids. But when she discovers a shocking secret about her late mother, Sylvia, Jess begins to question all she’s ever known. Her search for answers leads to a 1970s article about women’s rights in Switzerland that Sylvia wrote when she was a young journalist. But to uncover the real story of what happened all those years ago, Jess will have to go to Switzerland and find someone who knew her mother...

1976

Sylvia’s life is on track. She has a loving fiancé and her dream job as a features writer in a busy London newsroom—if only her editor would give her the chance to write about something important instead of relegating her to fashion, flowers, and celebrities. When Sylvia learns about the growing women’s liberation movement in Switzerland, where women only recently got the right to vote, she knows the story could be her big break. There’s just one wrinkle: she’s pregnant.

Determined to put her career first, Sylvia travels to Switzerland, and as she meets the courageous band of women fighting for their rights, she stumbles across an even bigger scoop, one that would make her male colleagues take her seriously. But telling the story will change her—and her baby’s—life forever.

Inspired by an important chapter of women’s history, The Other Daughter is an unforgettable novel about the bond between mothers and daughters—and the fight of women, generations over, for the freedom to choose their own path.

About the author

Caroline Bishop is a journalist, an editor, and the author of two novels. For the past fifteen years, she has written about travel, food, and theatre for many publications, including The GuardianThe TelegraphThe Independent, and BBC Travel. The Lost Chapter is her Canadian debut. A British-Canadian, she currently lives in Switzerland. Visit her at CarolineBishop.co.uk or connect with her on Twitter @CalBish.

Caroline Bishop's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“A fascinating, winding tale based around two important aspects of women’s history in Switzerland, and one that delves into the equally fascinating thoughts and hearts of the women themselves. Because of Ms. Bishop’s beautiful, descriptive passages, I now feel the need to travel to Switzerland and experience it firsthand. Oh, and there’s a major twist at the end that I never saw coming. What a rare treat for me!”
GENEVIEVE GRAHAM, USA Today and #1 bestselling author of Bluebird and The Forgotten Home Child

“This twin-stranded story interweaves themes of friendship, family, and finding yourself into one unforgettable tale that will capture your heart.”
SUSANNA KEARSLEY, New York Times bestselling author of The Vanished Days and The Firebird

Other titles by Caroline Bishop