Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Short Stories (single Author)

The Night of Broken Glass

Let’s Tell This Story Properly Short Story Singles

by (author) Jack Wang

edited by Ellah Wakatama Allfrey

Dundurn Press
Initial publish date
Jun 2015
Short Stories (single author), Literary, General
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Jun 2015
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Honouring strong new voices from around the world, the 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is a global award, open to unpublished as well as published writers, with a truly international judging panel. This global anthology presents the winner of the 2014 Short Story Prize, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi’s “Let’s Tell This Story Properly,” alongside some of the most promising and original stories entered for the prize during the past three years by emerging writers across the literary landscape of the world. Gathered from over ten thousand entries, the selected stories are provocative, rich in flair and ambition, and push the boundaries of fiction into fresh territory.

The Night of Broken Glass is by Canada’s Jack Wang.

About the authors

JACK WANG received a B.Sc. from the University of Toronto, an M.F.A. from the University of Arizona, and a Ph.D. in English with an emphasis in creative writing from Florida State University. In 2014–15, he held the David T. K. Wong Creative Writing Fellowship at the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England. Stories in his debut collection, We Two Alone, have been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize and longlisted for the Journey Prize, and have appeared in PRISM International, the Malahat Review, the New Quarterly, the Humber Literary Review, and Joyland. Originally from Vancouver, Jack Wang is an associate professor in the Department of Writing at Ithaca College in Ithaca, New York, where he lives with his wife, novelist Angelina Mirabella, and their two daughters.


Jack Wang's profile page

Ellah Wakatama Allfrey is an editor, critic, and broadcaster. The former deputy editor of Granta magazine and Chair of the 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize judging panel, she is a series editor for the Kwani? Manuscript Project, the Deputy Chair of the Caine Prize for African Writing, and patron of the Etisalat Literature Prize. A member of the judging panel for the 2015 Man Booker Prize, she was awarded an OBE in 2011 for services to the publishing industry. She lives in London, England.

Ellah Wakatama Allfrey's profile page


  • Short-listed, Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Other titles by Jack Wang

Other titles by Ellah Wakatama Allfrey