On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771333146_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
also available: Audiobook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2016
ISBN:9781771333146

The Nearly Girl

by Lisa de Nikolits

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
contemporary women, thrillers
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
also available: Audiobook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2016
ISBN:9781771333146
Description

Fans of A Prayer for Owen Meany and One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest will love this clever, fast-paced and enjoyable thriller. Like a modern-day Joan of Arc, Amelia Fisher attempts to carve out a ‘normal life’, showing us how mythic the idea of ‘normal’ really is. With a poetic genius for a father, an obsessed body builder for a mother, and an enchantingly eccentric group seeking the help of an unorthodox therapist, what could possibly go wrong? A chance discovery propels Amelia and fellow therapy attendee, Mike, with whom she is in love, into a life-threatening situation instigated by the crazed doctor’s own dark secret but Amelia’s psychosis saves the day. Told with warmth, humor and populated with vividly original characters, this sprint-paced novel has it all, from restraining orders to sex in office bathrooms, and a nail-biting ending. A novel about an unusual family, expected social norms and the twists and turns of getting it all slightly wrong, the consequences of which prove fatal for some.

About the Author

Lisa de Nikolits

Originally from South Africa, Lisa de Nikolits has lived in Canada since 2000. She has a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature and Philosophy and has lived in the U.S.A., Australia and Britain. No Fury Like That, her most recently published work, is her seventh novel. It will be published in Italian, under the title Una furia dell'altro mondo, in 2019. Previous works include: The Hungry Mirror (winner 2011 IPPY Gold Medal); West of Wawa (winner 2012 IPPY Silver Medal); A Glittering Chaos (winner 2016 Bronze IPPY Medal ; The Witchdoctor's Bones; Between The Cracks She Fell (winner 2016 for Contemporary Fiction); and The Nearly Girl. Lisa lives and writes in Toronto. Her ninth novel, The Occult Persuasion and the Anarchist's Solution is forthcoming in 2019.

Author profile page >

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Other Titles by Lisa de Nikolits

The Hungry Mirror

The Hungry Mirror

edition:eBook
More Info
West of Wawa

West of Wawa

edition:eBook
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...