On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780062674951_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.00
edition:Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Dec 2018
ISBN:9780062674951
publisher: HarperCollins

The Gown

A Novel of the Royal Wedding

by Jennifer Robson

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
historical, sagas, 20th century
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.00
edition:Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Dec 2018
ISBN:9780062674951
publisher: HarperCollins
Description

From the internationally bestselling author of Somewhere in France comes an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century—Queen Elizabeth’s wedding gown—and the fascinating women who made it.
“Millions will welcome this joyous event as a flash of color on the long road we have to travel.”

—Sir Winston Churchill on the news of Princess Elizabeth’s forthcoming wedding
London, 1947: Besieged by the harshest winter in living memory, burdened by onerous shortages and rationing, the people of postwar Britain are enduring lives of quiet desperation despite their nation’s recent victory. Among them are Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell. Together they forge an unlikely friendship, but their nascent hopes for a brighter future are tested when they are chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honor: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth’s wedding gown.
Toronto, 2016: More than half a century later, Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a set of embroidered flowers, a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved Nan, a woman who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost seventy years before? And what was her Nan’s connection to the celebrated textile artist and holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin?  
With The Gown, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created. Balancing behind-the-scenes details with a sweeping portrait of a society left reeling by the calamitous costs of victory, she introduces readers to three unforgettable heroines, their points of view alternating and intersecting throughout its pages, whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love.

 

 

 

 

About the Author

Jennifer Robson is the USA Today and #1 Toronto Globe & Mail bestselling author of Somewhere in France, After the War is Over and Moonlight Over Paris. She holds a doctorate from Saint Antony’s College, University of Oxford. She lives in Toronto with her husband and young children.

Author profile page >
Editorial Reviews

“In The Gown, Jennifer Robson illuminates with her signature meticulous historical detail and sure voice the story behind Queen Elizabeth’s wedding dress... an unforgettable story of friendship, hardship and hope.  Robson has managed to craft a story that is personal and universal, timely and timeless.  The Gown soars!”

— Pam Jenoff, <em>New York Times</em> bestselling author of <em>The Orphan’s Tale</em>

“Embroidering a magical moment in royal history, Robson tells a heartrending story of friendship, loss, love, and redemption.”

— Leslie Carroll, author of <em>American Princess: The Love Story of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry</em>

“A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity.  Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth’s wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways.  Perfect for fans of The Crown!”

— Lauren Willig, author of <em>The English Wife</em>

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...