On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781773212968_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $18.95
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781773212968
publisher: Annick Press

The Ghost Collector

by Allison Mills

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
ghost stories, native american, native canadian
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $18.95
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781773212968
publisher: Annick Press
Description

Ghosts aren’t meant to stick around forever…

Shelly and her grandmother catch ghosts. In their hair.

Just like all the women in their family, they can see souls who haven’t transitioned yet; it’s their job to help the ghosts along their journey. When Shelly’s mom dies suddenly, Shelly’s relationship to ghosts—and death—changes. Instead of helping spirits move on, Shelly starts hoarding them. But no matter how many ghost cats, dogs, or people she hides in her room, Shelly can’t ignore the one ghost that’s missing. Why hasn’t her mom’s ghost come home yet?

Rooted in a Cree worldview and inspired by stories about the author’s great-grandmother’s life, The Ghost Collector delves into questions of grief and loss, and introduces an exciting new voice in tween fiction that will appeal to fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Louisiana’s Way Home and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls.

About the Author

Allison Mills (Ililiw/Cree and settler) is a writer, archivist, and librarian who loves all things ghost-related. The Ghost Collector is her first novel. She lives in Vancouver. Follow Allison on Twitter at @sometimesal.

Author profile page >
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
10 to 100
Grade:
5 to 17
Reading age:
10 to 100
Awards
  • Joint winner, Best Books List, CBC Books
Editorial Reviews

“[An] original paranormal tale.” 

— Kirkus Reviews, 06/12/19

“Simple language makes The Ghost Collector accessible to its tween audience while introducing sophisticated concepts. In Shelly, Mills has created a believable, likeable character who learns important life lessons about the future in the rich context of her cultural past.” 

— CM Reviews, 09/20/19

“Mills explores the confusion and anger loss can bring, as well as the difficulties of being different in middle school. It’s a quiet, contemplative read.” —Booklist, 09/10/19

— Booklist

“Young readers will delight in the inventiveness of The Ghost Collector.” 

— Canadian Children’s Book News, 01/24/20

“Offers readers a gentle and interesting lesson on ghost lore — as well as a refreshing challenge to assumptions about traditional knowledge.”

— Toronto Star, 11/06/19

“Mills’s spare prose is poignant and never heavy-handed, culturally specific yet universally resonant.” 

— The Horn Book Magazine, 11/19

“A moving, compassionate story.” 

— Falling Letters, 01/08/2020

“Poignantly haunting.” 

— The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, 09/19

“Mills has created a gentle, understated story about grief and loss through a paranormal lens. This is a necessary book that is sure to have readers. Highly recommended.” 

— School Library Journal, *starred review, 08/19

“Perfectly balances suspense and the supernatural . . . [A] powerful and moving story about coming to terms with the death of a loved one. It’s an auspicious debut that is sure to delight middle-grade readers.” 

— The Globe and Mail, 08/25/19

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “The Ghost Collector”

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...