On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781773100302_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2018
ISBN:9781773100302

The Death and Life of Strother Purcell

by Ian Weir

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
literary, sagas, westerns
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2018
ISBN:9781773100302
Description

The man, the myth, the one-eyed legend: a frontier epic for fans of Ron Rash and Cormac McCarthy.

In 1876, the fabled lawman Strother Purcell disappears into a winter storm in the mountains of British Columbia, while hunting down his outlawed half-brother. Sixteen years later, the wreck of Purcell resurfaces – derelict, homeless and one-eyed – in a San Francisco jail cell. And a failed journalist named Barrington Weaver conceives a grand redemptive plan. He will write Purcell's true-life story. All it requires is a final act…

What unfolds is an archetypal saga of obsession, lost love, treachery, and revenge, told in Ian Weir's trademark funny, fast, wickedly intelligent style. A deadpan revisionist Western, refracted through a Southern Gothic revenge tragedy, The Death and Life of Strother Purcell is a novel about two cursed brothers, a pair of eldritch orphans, the vexed nature of truth, and the yearnings of that treacherous sonofabitch the human heart.

About the Author
Ian Weir is an award-winning screenwriter, playwright and novelist. He is the writer and executive producer of the acclaimed crime-thriller Dragon Boys, a CBC mini-series that first aired in 2007. Other TV credits include episodes for more than 20 different series, including Flashpoint, Cold Squad, Edgemont, Odyssey, ReBoot, Beachcombers and One Life to Live. Weir's stage plays have been produced across Canada as well as in the U.S. and England. He has won two Geminis, four Leos, a Jessie and the Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Award. He lives in Langley, British Columbia.
Author profile page >
Editorial Reviews

"Weir takes every trope in the Western's playbook — the one-eyed avenging lawman, the feckless brother, tarts both with and without hearts, gunslingers, gimps, and gamblers — and makes of them something new and utterly wonderful. This wildly entertaining and witty yarn made me gasp, hoot, and holler."

— C.C. Humphreys

"Masterfully crafted storytelling, witty and pacy and scratchy with grit. When it comes to the "Canadian Western," Ian Weir thrills and heartbreaks in similar ways as Guy Vanderhaeghe, and if that all sounds like a good time, it is."

— Andrew Pyper

" It’s rambunctious entertainment that’s closer in spirit to Patrick deWitt’s The Sisters Brothers. It’s funny but violent, murderous but light-hearted. Weir’s characters are a delight."

— <i>Canadian Notes & Queries</i>

"A fascinating and insightful commentary on how stories are built and on our determination to see them come to light. Strother strides on the page — epic and tragic — a man trapped in the myths of manhood and gunslinging, a man of a bygone era who cannot allow bygones to be just that."

— Claire Mulligan

"A literary exegesis on truth disguised as rollicking, tragic Western entertainment. Cain and Abel and the Sisters Brothers got nothing on towering Strother Purcell and his club-footed half-brother. When lies are this well loved, they transform into truth and truth into history."

— Hart Hanson

" The Death and Life of Strother Purcell is a great yarn, an extraordinary epic of lives marked by the power of guilt and forgiveness at its best. Its humanity shines brightly."

— <i>The Winnipeg Free Press</i>

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Ian Weir

Daniel O'Thunder

Daniel O'Thunder

A Novel
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...