On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780062351241_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Aug 2016
ISBN:9780062351241
publisher: HarperCollins

The Cranky Ballerina

illustrated by Elise Gravel

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
dance, emotions & feelings, humorous stories
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Aug 2016
ISBN:9780062351241
publisher: HarperCollins
Description

Ada hates everything about ballet class, yet she still has to go! Arabesques? Grotesque! And then one Saturday, Ada pliés right out the door and into the hallway, smacking into someone who thinks her ungraceful moves are great!

In the tradition of Kevin Henkes’s Lilly books and Russell and Lillian Hoban’s Frances classics, Ada is a plucky little kid with her own way of thinking. Through Ada’s stubbornness and emotional honesty, author/illustrator Elise Gravel shows her understanding of how kids feel and why. She shows us that anger is normal and feeling our emotions leads to growth! This short, funny, energetic book—full of word bubbles that enhance visual literacy and Gravel’s signature vibrant illustrations—is a great choice for both reading aloud and reading independently for emergent readers.

Children who love ballet—and definitely those who don’t—will delight in this clever, subversive tale about a kid who has to do what she doesn’t like in order to discover what she loves.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
4 to 8
Grade:
p to 3
Editorial Reviews

This book will resonate with children, especially those who have yet to channel their misunderstood talents. A noteworthy addition for most collections. Fans of Gravel will get a kick out of this grouchy character.

— School Library Journal

Praise for I LOVE MONSTERS: The abundance of rainbow-hued monsters suggests that Gravel probably had a grand time flinging darts at a color wheel.

— Kirkus Reviews

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...