On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735266216_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9780735266216
publisher: Tundra

The Collected Works of Gretchen Oyster

by Cary Fagan

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
emotions & feelings, siblings, humorous stories
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9780735266216
publisher: Tundra
Description

Who is Gretchen Oyster? The discovery of a series of mysterious handmade postcards distracts Hartley from trouble at home. A poignant novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Holly Goldberg Sloan.

Hartley Staples, near-graduate of middle school, is grappling with the fact that his older brother has run away from home, when he finds a handmade postcard that fascinates him. And soon he spots another. Despite his losing interest in pretty much everything since Jackson ran away, Hartley finds himself searching for cards in his small town at every opportunity, ignoring other responsibilities, namely choosing a topic for his final project. Who is G.O. and why are they scattering cards about the town?

Contributor Notes

CARY FAGAN's numerous kids' books include Mort Ziff Is Not Dead, the Kaspar Snit novels, the Wolfie & Fly chapter books and the picture books Little Blue Chair and the forthcoming What Are You Doing, Benny?, illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton. Mr. Zinger's Hat, another of his picture books, was awarded the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award and the IODE Jean Throop Award. He also won the Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People for his body of work. In addition to his books for children, Cary is the author of six novels and three story collections for adults. He was born and raised in Toronto, where he continues to live with his family.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
10 to 14
Grade:
5 to 9
Editorial Review

One of the New York Public Library's Best Books for Kids 2019
PRAISE FOR The Collected Works of Gretchen Oyster:

“[A] funny, beautifully illustrated coming-of-age novel that will leave young readers thinking about where art begins and what it can do to change lives.” --CM Magazine
"A charmingly eccentric tale of briefly intersecting lives making meaning from art." --Kirkus Reviews
“Filled with beautiful art and poignant prose, Cary Fagan’s latest middle grade novel is funny and touching in equal measure.” --BookPage
“The Collected Works of Gretchen Oyster is a delightfully quirky novel about facing our personal darkness.” --Resource Links
“Fagan . . . tells a moving story about the happiness found in small moments and art’s power to connect people.” --Publishers Weekly

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...