Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Short Stories (single Author)

The Bass Saxophone

Two Novellas

by (author) Josef Skvorecky

Key Porter Books
Initial publish date
Apr 2002
Short Stories (single author), General
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Apr 2002
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


First published in 1980, The Bass Saxophone was chosen as Book of the Year by The Guardian. This internationally acclaimed classic of jazz literature is now available in a handsome new edition with a new contribution by the author. As an introduction to these two novellas, Skvorecky writes a remarkable personal memoir of his jazz-obsessed youth under two dictatorships. (2001)

About the author

JOSEF SKVORECKY is an award-winning author whose novels include The Cowards, The Bass Saxophone, The Swell Season and The Engineer of Human Souls. Among his numerous literary awards are the Neustadt International Prize for Literature (1980), the Governor General’s Award for Fiction (1984) and the Czech Republic State Prize for Literature (1999). He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in 1982, awarded the Order of the White Lion by the President of Czechoslovakia, Václav Havel, in 1990, and in 1992 was made a Member of the Order of Canada.

Josef Skvorecky's profile page

Other titles by Josef Skvorecky