On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781550505177_cover Enlarge Cover
4 of 5
1 rating
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Aug 2012
ISBN:9781550505177
publisher: Coteau Books

Suspicion

by Rachel Wyatt

reviews: 1
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
suspense
4 of 5
1 rating
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Aug 2012
ISBN:9781550505177
publisher: Coteau Books
Description

Candace Alice Wilson is missing. As the hours since Candace's disappearance build into days, a small town's certainty that a simple domestic spat has led her to walk out gives way to suspicion. Everyone knows everyone else's motive; everyone knows who has reason to be guilty. After all, isn't Candace's husband Jack the architect of an wildly unpopular multi-million dollar housing development? Didn't her (younger, prettier) sister lead the opposing protests? Why is her father busier pursuing a new relationship than looking for his daughter? Doesn't it seem strange that of everyone, her brother-in-law is the one most hell-bent on finding her? And why won't Jack sit down to a simple supper with the family lawyer? Nothing escapes the notice of eMarguerite', the anonymous chat-room regular who describes the faults and foibles of the townspeople with gleeful and unflinching keystrokes. While the mixed-up stories of blame and distrust threaten to destroy a family and weaken the townitself, eMarguerite' has all the answers. If only someone were listeningOSuspicion shows veteran author Rachel Wyatt at her very best as she exposes the fears, desires and prejudices that make up the human condition with subtle sensitivity and ruthless steel.

About the Author

Rachel Wyatt

Writer and playwright, Rachel Wyatt was born in England in 1929 and has lived in Canada since 1957. She is well-known as a prolific writer of radio plays. Wyatt has written four novels, several successful stage plays, and short stories, and her work has appeared in many anthologies.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Rachel Wyatt is an award-winning author of novels, short fiction, stage and radio plays, and non-fiction works. Her fiction includes the novels Letters to Omar (published in 2010 by Coteau Books) and The Rosedale Hoax, and the short story collections The Magician's Beautiful Assistant and The Day Marlene Dietrich Died. Her stage plays have been produced across Canada and in the US and the UK. She has also had over 100 plays produced by CBC and BBC radio. Rachel was Director of the Writing Program at the Banff Centre for the Arts during the 1990s. She was awarded the Order of Canada in 2002 and the Queen's Jubilee Medal in 2003.

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.
Librarian review

Suspicion

On a chilly Friday morning, Candace Wilson found herself with some unexpected free time. She had booked a dental appointment for 8:30, but when she arrived, the office was closed and nobody had called to reschedule. Instead of heading straight for work, Candace decided to use her unclaimed hour to go for a walk and reflect on her life. She and Jack had struggled for years with infertility, and never had come to any sort of firm decision about whether or not to adopt. They needed to talk about it, but maybe not now, when Jack’s latest development on the town’s waterfront was stirring up so much controversy. Even Candace’s own sister was against it, not that they’d ever been close. But now Candace and Jack were so paralyzed by their setbacks that they couldn’t make decisions, not even choosing proper furniture for their home. There had been a lot of stress and the cracks were starting to show. Candace ambled distractedly past the building site and tripped, falling into a hole in the ground and breaking her leg. She called for help, but nobody was around to hear her.

When Candace fails to show up for work and doesn’t return home that night, everyone knows something is wrong. And in a town where the police officer, the mayor, and the developer have known each other since high school, everyone has a theory about who is responsible. Psychologically astute, Suspicion tells a very human story of family tensions, false assumptions and a town falling apart as it tries to work together. This gripping novel will undoubtedly appeal to readers of Catherine Gildiner and Richard Russo.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Suspicion”

Other Titles by Rachel Wyatt

Last We Heard Of Leonard

Last We Heard Of Leonard

edition:Paperback
tagged :
More Info
Agnes Macphail

Agnes Macphail

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged : political
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...