On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: March 2020
ISBN:9781443457248

Stay Where I Can See You

A Novel

by Katrina Onstad

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
psychological
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: March 2020
ISBN:9781443457248
Description

Does good fortune always change things for the better?

The Kaplan family has just won 10 million dollars in the lottery. But haven’t they always been lucky? Gwen thought so. She’s carefully curated a perfect suburban existence with a loving husband and two children. For over a decade, she’s been a stay-at-home mom, devoted to giving her kids the quiet, protected adolescence she didn’t have. But the surprise windfall suddenly upends the family, allowing them all to dream a little bigger and catapulting them back to the city that Gwen fled years ago.

As the Kaplans navigate the notoriety that the lottery brings and try to adjust to their new lives in the upper class—Seth launches a dubious start-up, Maddie falls headfirst in love at her elite prep school—a tightly held secret is unlocked. Along with the truth come long-buried memories from Gwen’s troubled youth, forcing her to confront her painful past and threatening to unravel the incredibly tight bond between her and Maddie. Her meticulously constructed identity as the good wife and mother begins to crack. And when their changed circumstances place her family under threat, Gwen must wake up from her domestic slumber.

For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Liane Moriarty and Zoe Whittall, Katrina Onstad’s new novel explores whether our most intimate relationships can survive our most unforgivable actions. Stay Where I Can See You is a penetrating story about the pendulum swing of fortune, the ferocity of mother–daughter devotion and the stories we tell—and withhold—because of love.

About the Author

Katrina Onstad

KATRINA ONSTAD is a multiple award–winning journalist whose work has appeared in the Globe and Mail, Chatelaine, the New York Times Magazine, the Guardian and Elle. Her critically lauded novels include How Happy to Be and Everybody Has Everything, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and shortlisted for the Toronto Book Award. Onstad lives in Toronto with her husband and two children.

Author profile page >
Editorial Reviews

“Utterly rich, vivid and filled with urgency. I couldn’t take my eyes off of these characters.”

— Kaui Hart Hemmings, author of <em>The Descendants</em><br/><br/>

“Onstad’s radiant novel is powered by gorgeous writing, a quietly propulsive plot, and an uncannily accurate rendering of the way love, lust, rage, and reconciliation ebb and flow in the life of a couple.”

— Real Simple

“Onstad makes a significant leap into the deep end with this story. . . . Brave work from a writer who gets better with every book.”

— NOW Magazine

Praise for Everybody Has Everything Longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize
Shortlisted for the Toronto Book Awards
An Amazon Best Book (Editor’s Choice)
A Globe and Mail Top 100 Book
A NOW Magazine Top 10 Book

— No Source

“A literary excursion into the poignancy and murkiness of loss, parenting and marriage. . . . Intelligent, ambitious and unsettling. . . . Most definitely memorable.”

— Winnipeg Free Press

“Unsparingly honest. . . . Never sentimental but always compassionate, this compelling book is hard to put down.”

— Hello! Canada

“Everybody Has Everything is about many things – family, friendship, responsibility, loss – but at its heart, it’s about what happens when the person you love suddenly veers off in another direction. It is unflinching yet tender, gripping and lyrical and devastating. I can’t stop thinking about it.”

— Lauren Fox, author of <em>Still Life with Husband</em> and <em>Friends Like Us</em><em></em>

“Everyone will recognize the all too common yearnings and failings of two people trying to figure out what will make them happy . . . “

— Chatelaine

“Crisp, gripping and deeply thought-provoking.”

— Library Journal (starred review)

“Ambitious and assured. . . . Thoroughly convincing.”

— The Globe and Mail

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Other Titles by Katrina Onstad

How Happy to Be

How Happy to Be

edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback
tagged :
More Info
The Weekend Effect

The Weekend Effect

The Life-Changing Benefits of Taking Time Off and Challenging the Cult of Overwork
tagged : happiness
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...