Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Family Life

Sons of a Fisherman

by (author) Wayne Curtis

Pottersfield Press
Initial publish date
Jul 2023
Family Life
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jul 2023
    List Price
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Sep 2023
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Sons of a Fisherman is a collection of thirteen short stories by acclaimed New Brunswick author Wayne Curtis. In his customary evocative prose, Curtis describes days in the lives of the people who work and play on the rivers, drawing sustenance and nourishment of all kinds from the bounty the waterways provide.
"River Children" recounts the antics of youth who spend the day enjoying swimming and fishing before attending an evening church service with their father, a great fisherman in his younger years. In "The Late Run," time on the river means money to support the family, as the boys serve as guides for the sports who come to fish the area. "Moving Shadows" recounts a young man's first love, which blossomed on the frozen river and lasted his whole life. In "Autumn Waters" and "Christmas in the Time of Covid," Curtis's narrators are nostalgic for a way of life once enjoyed and now fondly remembered.

Writing of what he knows so well, Curtis offers to readers the world of his own childhood and youth, when the days were filled with hard work outdoors but also with the abundance of the river for employment, for play, and for meditation. His protagonists may long for literature and a more cultured life at times, but their affinity for the river is bone deep. As true to life as his human characters, the rivers of his stories are characters as well, full of moods and beauty, sustenance and danger. In Sons of a Fisherman, Curtis travels well-trodden paths with grace and the sure-footedness of a man who knows the life and loves it still.

About the author

Wayne Curtis was born in Keenan, New Brunswick, in 1943. He was educated at the local schoolhouse and St. Thomas University where he majored in English. He has won the Richards Award for short fiction, The Lieutenant Governor's Award, and the CBC Drama Awards. Wayne's stories have appeared in literary journals: The Cormorant, The Fiddlehead, Pottersfield Portfolio, The Nashwaak Review, The Antigonish Review, The Dalhousie Review, New Brunswick Reader, New Maritimes and the anthologies Atlantica, Country Roads, The STU Reader, Winter House, The Christmas Secret and Winter. His short stories have been dramatized on CBC radio and CBC television.

In the spring of 2005, Wayne Curtis received an Honorary Doctorate Degree (letters) from St. Thomas University. In 2014 he was awarded the Order of New Brunswick. In 2018 he received the Senate Sesquicentennial Medal from the Canadian Senate and in 2023 he received The Queen's Platinum Jubilee Award. Wayne has lived in southern Ontario, Yukon Territories and Cuba. He currently divides his time between his cabin on the Miramichi River and his apartment in Fredericton, New Brunswick. Our Christmas Guest is his twenty-second published book.

Wayne Curtis' profile page

Other titles by