On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781250057709_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $36.99
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: May 2017
ISBN:9781250057709
publisher: Minotaur

Perish the Day

A Thriller

by John Farrow

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
police procedural
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $36.99
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: May 2017
ISBN:9781250057709
publisher: Minotaur
Description

Perish the Day is a riveting new mystery from John Farrow, an author who "brings a literary fiction writer's sensitivity to nuance and feel for landscape to this fine, character-rich thriller with a bang-up finish" (Booklist).

A co-ed is found murdered on campus, her body scarcely touched. The killer paid meticulous attention to the aesthetics of his crime. Coincidentally (or not), a college custodian is also found dead.

While an epic rainstorm assails the Holyoake, New Hampshire campus, overflowing rivers and taking down power lines, a third crime scene is revealed: a professor, formerly a spy, has been shot dead in his home. A mysterious note is found that warned him to run.

Each victim is connected to the Dowbiggin School of International Relations, yet none seems connected to the other. The dead student was a close friend of Sergeant-Detective Ã?mile Cinq-Mars’s niece, so he puts his nose in; when internecine battles between police departments create a rift, he covertly slips into the crevice so he can be involved in the investigation.

Coming up against campus secrets, Ã?mile Cinq-Mars must uncover the links between disparate groups quickly before the next victim is selected for an elaborate initiation into murder.

Contributor Notes

JOHN FARROW is the pen name of Trevor Ferguson, a literary legend in his native Canada. He has written over a dozen novels and several plays, all to extraordinary acclaim, and was named Canada’s best novelist in both Books in Canada and the Toronto Star. He makes regular visits to the U.S. to attend conferences like Bouchercon and Thrillerfest. He is the author ofThe Storm Murders andSeven Days Dead, the previous books in his Storm Murders series.

Editorial Review

Praise forPerish the Day:

"The best yet in one of my favorite series - I love Ã?mile Cinq-Mars."—Lee Child

"Excellent...John Verdon fans will be pleased by Farrow’s pitting of his well-rounded lead against a puzzle worthy of the detective’s acuity."—Publishers Weekly (starred)

"Farrow is an atmospheric storyteller who offers readers a complex literary mystery."—Library Journal

"Farrow once again showcases his hero's sensitivity to subtleties of character. The perfect read-alike for Louise Penny's Armand Gamache novels."—Booklist

"Retired police officer Ã?mile Cinq-Mars returns in this tightly woven tale where he must solve a rapid-fire series of murders tied to a local college. But nothing is as it seems. A combination of Spencer and Holmes, Ã?mile is a wonderfully engaging character and inPerish the Day must employ each of his considerable skills to solve this disturbing and convoluted case. This series just keeps getting better." —DP Lyle, award-winning author of the Jake Longly, Dub Walker, and Samantha Cody thriller series

"Death in these books is devastating, always walloping the small communities in which they occur, are never just convenient and curious plot motivators. There's a realism within the convention that sets the John Farrow books apart and above their generic peers."—The Bookshelf

Praise forSeven Days Dead:

"A gale-force thriller.Seven Days Dead had me hooked from the first howling chapter." —Kathy Reichs

“Farrow is an authoritative writer who creates characters with depth and plots that say something about them.” —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times

"With a set up that reads and feels almost like classic Agatha Christie,Seven Days Dead takes you to a remote island on a dark and stormy night where murder and mystery await. The writing is elegant and atmospheric, the characters seem like real people and the story is beautifully told. If you're not a fan of Farrow already then readSeven Days Dead and you soon will be." —Simon Toyne, author of the bestsellingSanctus Trilogy

"Cinq-Mars is a master at teasing meaning out of nuance, both in his encounters with suspects and in his wonderfully rich relationship with his wife. A delight for followers of Louise Penny and Donna Leon."—Booklist(Starred)

Praise for The Storm Murders:

“Farrow has written an excellent thriller in which characters, plot, and setting score a triple for suspense.” —Library Journal (starred)

“Smart...enthralling.” —Publishers Weekly (starred)

"One of the best mysteries from Canada in some time, this fourth book in a strong series is equally good at capturing the atmosphere of New Orleans and the distinctive qualities of Montreal." —Kirkus (Starred)

“This terrific story, with sympathetic characters and Farrow's crisp prose, is some of the best fiction to come out of Canada. Louise Penny won't be bumped off the podium, but she'll have to clear some space next to her.” —Bookpage

“John Farrow has given crime-fiction fans something they haven't had for a long time: a well-conceived, well-written locked-room puzzle mystery combined with an engaging thriller that deftly explores the depths of human evil...Farrow is a skilled writer, and in THE STORM MURDERS he has brought his formidable talents to bear in creating an atmospheric, intense and sometimes graphic story that draws on recent history for it's narrative power.” —Reviewing The Evidence
“Farrow brings a literary fiction writer's sensitivity to nuance and feel for landscape to this fine, character-rich thriller with a bang-up finish. Add Cinq-Mars to your shortlist of favorite retired Montreal detectives, including, of course, Penny's Armand Gamache.” —Booklist
“With thought-provoking passages ... threaded throughoutThe Storm Murders,one might be forgiven for struggling to recall what life was like before this particular detective entered one's mind. For this reader, Cinq-Mars is there to stay.” —Criminal Elements

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Reading Lists Featuring “Perish the Day”

Other Titles by John Farrow

City Of Ice

edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Paperback
tagged : thrillers
More Info
River City

River City

edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Paperback
tagged : thrillers
More Info
Ice Lake

Ice Lake

edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
tagged : thrillers
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...