On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780062671806_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $8.99 USD
edition:Paperback
published: Mar 2017
ISBN:9780062671806
publisher: HarperCollins

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere ()

illustrated by Elise Gravel

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
science & technology, humorous, emotions & feelings
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $8.99 USD
edition:Paperback
published: Mar 2017
ISBN:9780062671806
publisher: HarperCollins
Description

Meet Olga, the amazing child scientist who LOVES animals (because they are super-cute)! Brightly.com put this amusing don't-miss book on their "Ultimate Summer Reading List for 9- to 12-Year-Olds"

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere is jam-packed with fun: vibrant illustrations, word bubbles, quirky humor, olgamus facts, and plenty of excitement for readers who love making discoveries and meeting new friends. Olga is a charming combination of independent, curious, and smart—making her the coolest girl scientist around—perfect for fans of Dork Diaries and Captain Underpants.

When Olga crosses paths with a weird creature and becomes the first kid to discover the species olgamus ridiculus, she is ecstatic! What does an olgamus eat? How does it poop? Why does its burp sound like the word rubber? With her trusty observation notebook and the help of a librarian, a shopkeeper, and some friends, Olga sets out to do science—learning the facts about her smelly, almost-furry pal and searching for him when he goes missing. The scientific method is the best way to discover anything!

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
8 to 12
Grade:
3 to 7
Editorial Reviews

“[An] obvious sell to fans of animals, but it will also hit a humorous note with anybody who has felt a little left behind by these things we call humans.”

— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Animal-loving Olga makes her biggest scientific discovery yet in this amusing story!” (Recommended on “The Ultimate Summer Reading List for 9- to 12-Year-Olds—2017 Edition”)

— Brightly

“This laugh-out-loud book is a perfect pick for transitioning readers with a penchant for silly stories, or graduates of the Fly Guy series.”

— Booklist

“Great, kooky, monstrous fun!”

— Jim Benton, bestselling author of Franny K. Stein

“Readers will get lots of laughs out of the steady stream of gross-out jokes, as well as Olga’s misanthropic humor, though her attitude toward humans softens slightly by book’s end.”

— Publishers Weekly

“An apt readalike for fans of Wimpy Kid, and Gravel deploys spot art, larger illustrations, word balloons, and chunks of text with great success in the layout.”

— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“For fans of Dork Diaries and Captain Underpants, Olga will be a big hit. Kids will devour the toilet humor along with the quick one-liners Olga throws out.”

— School Library Journal

“A visually interesting mix of illustration and story, punctuated by numerous lists, comic panels, and cartoon diagrams and led by a smart female protagonist. A bubble-gum crowd pleaser with wide audience appeal.”

— Kirkus Reviews

“Researching the creature she dubs Meh fills Olga’s days with purpose and her notebook with hilarious quips (”He doesn’t like it when I put a sock on his head.... He’s really scared of bananas”), which Gravel captures in her signature brand of chunky cartooning, accented with red.”

— Publishers Weekly

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...