On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735234413_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.95
edition:Paperback
published: April 2019
ISBN:9780735234413
imprint: Hamish Hamilton

Mistakes to Run With

A Memoir

by Yasuko Thanh

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
literary, personal memoirs, women
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.95
edition:Paperback
published: April 2019
ISBN:9780735234413
imprint: Hamish Hamilton
Description

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A devastatingly frank memoir that tears open the past to examine how circumstances--and the choices we make--dictate the people we become, for fans of Educated and The Glass Castle.

Mistakes to Run With chronicles the turbulent life of Yasuko Thanh, from early childhood in the closest thing Victoria, BC, has to a slum to teen years as a sex worker and, finally, to her emergence as an award-winning author. As a child, Thanh embraced evangelical religion, only to rebel against it and her equally rigid parents, cutting herself, smoking, and shoplifting. At fifteen, the honour-roll runaway develops a taste for drugs and alcohol. After a stint in jail at sixteen, feeling utterly abandoned by her family, school, and society, Thanh meets the man who would become her pimp and falls in love.

The next chapter of her life takes Thanh to the streets of Vancouver, where she endures beatings, arrests, crack cocaine, and an unwanted pregnancy. The act of writing ultimately becomes a solace from her suffering. Leaving the sex trade, but refusing to settle on any one thing, Thanh forges a new life for herself, from dealing drugs in four languages to motherhood and a complicated marriage, and emerges as a successful writer.

But even as publication and awards bolster her, she remains haunted by her past.

Contributor Notes

YASUKO THANH's story collection Floating Like the Dead was shortlisted for the Danuta Gleed Award and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. One of its stories won an Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Short Story. The title story won the Journey Prize for the best story published in Canada in 2009. Quill & Quire named Floating Like the Dead a Best Book of the Year. CBC hailed Yasuko Thanh one of ten writers to watch in 2013. Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains, her debut novel, won the Rogers Writers' Trust for Fiction, the City of Victoria Butler Book Prize, and was nominated for the Amazon.ca First Novel Award. She lives in Victoria, BC, with her two children. In her spare time she plays in a punk band called 12 Gauge Facial, for which she writes all the songs and music.

Editorial Review

A Globe and Mail National Bestseller
Featured in Refinery29's "11 Books We Can't Wait To Read This Spring"
One of CBC's "12 Canadian books coming out in April we can't wait to read"

Praise for Mistakes to Run With:

“Whether earning top marks or justifying self-destruction under the guise of a pursuit of freedom, the pressure to earn love – and the belief that it’s never freely given – form some of the most devastating parts of this memoir…The prose here is alive in ways that are both difficult and emotionally accessible.”
Quill and Quire
“Mistakes to Run With is refreshingly brave, bold, and open. Rather than hiding behind a tidy story arc, Yasuko Thanh places value on all life experiences, good, bad, beautiful, scary, and sad. The result is an incredibly rare and generous thing--a memoir that lets me in so close to her life, it changed how I see mine.”
—Claire Cameron, author of The Last Neanderthal
“Remarkable…unflinching and honest. I was profoundly moved by Thanh's tenacity amidst dire conditions and odds. With a writer's eye, she finds beauty and hope in lost causes and the strength in language to explain how one survives. Thanh mines her past to make sense of who she is and was always meant to be—a brilliant writer and an exceptional woman.”
—Carrianne Leung, author of That Time I Loved You

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...