On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781773100036_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.95
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: March 2018
ISBN:9781773100036

MARRY, BANG, KILL

by Andrew Battershill

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
literary, crime, black humor
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $19.95
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: March 2018
ISBN:9781773100036
Description

For a guy who mugs people for their laptops, Tommy Marlo isn’t such a bad guy. He can’t help trying to make the people he meets — even those he mugs — feel better about their situation. Unfortunately for Tommy, he rips off the daughter of a psychotic, high-ranking member of a notorious motorcycle gang. Even worse, the laptop that he pilfered contains proof of a few gruesome murders and the location of a huge stash of money. Flat broke and marked for death, his only shot at surviving is to rob the motorcycle gang, use the cash to get out of town, and hide out on the small island where his mother now lives.

What follows is a revisionist crime thriller, a page-turning hybrid of literary and genre fiction for fans of Elmore Leonard or Patrick deWitt. But Battershill writes with a voice all his own. Deftly combining crackling dialogue with biting wit, MARRY, BANG, KILL hums with the thrill of chaos as Tommy runs to a quiet island to escape a swelling cast of characters who are trying to arrest, rob, kill, or save him. The island won’t be quiet for long.

Editorial Reviews

"Great dialogue, a good story and some memorable individuals all contribute to making MARRY, BANG, KILL a winner in my book."

— <i>The Miramichi Reader</i>

"Combine the plot from a Richard Stark 'Parker' novel with the humour of early Charles Portis and you'll come close to the shenanigans in MARRY, BANG, KILL. My advice? Just shut up and read this book."

— Michael Winter

"A surprisingly heartfelt story tucked inside a superbly oddball crime thriller."

— <i>Publishers Weekly</i>

"A comic noir with a particular west coast Canuck vibe: loose, absurd, sweet. There's abundant skill here, and plenty of laughs, but also the pleasure of reading a writer finding a space of his very own."

— Andrew Pyper

"A sprawling, gonzo hide-and-seek narrative that will appeal to fans of Breaking Bad."

— <i>Quill & Quire</i>

"MARRY, BANG, KILL is the super fun, expertly crafted, west coast genre-bending crime thriller I didn't even know I needed, and now can't stop talking about."

— Amy Jones

"A rogues' gallery of small-time crooks that would make Elmore Leonard and the Coen Brothers proud. Battershill mixes sardonic wit and kinetic action with a razor-sharp eye for the details of west coast life. Stylish and smart."

— Sam Wiebe

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Andrew Battershill

Pillow

Pillow

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Audiobook
tagged : literary, crime, noir
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...