On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781773100029_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: March 2018
ISBN:9781773100029

MARRY, BANG, KILL

by Andrew Battershill

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
literary, black humor, crime
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: March 2018
ISBN:9781773100029
Description

For a guy who mugs people for their laptops, Tommy Marlo isn’t such a bad guy. He can’t help trying to make the people he meets — even those he mugs — feel better about their situation. Unfortunately for Tommy, he rips off the daughter of a psychotic, high-ranking member of a notorious motorcycle gang. Even worse, the laptop that he pilfered contains proof of a few gruesome murders and the location of a huge stash of money. Flat broke and marked for death, his only shot at surviving is to rob the motorcycle gang, use the cash to get out of town, and hide out on the small island where his mother now lives.

What follows is a revisionist crime thriller, a page-turning hybrid of literary and genre fiction for fans of Elmore Leonard or Patrick deWitt. But Battershill writes with a voice all his own. Deftly combining crackling dialogue with biting wit, MARRY, BANG, KILL hums with the thrill of chaos as Tommy runs to a quiet island to escape a swelling cast of characters who are trying to arrest, rob, kill, or save him. The island won’t be quiet for long.

About the Author
Andrew Battershill's first novel, Pillow, was longlisted for the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize and the 2016 Sunburst Award and shortlisted for the 2016 Kobo Emerging Writer Award. Pillow was also selected by the Walrus as one of the Best Books of 2016 and by CBC Books as one of the Best Debuts of the year. Battershill is the co-founder and former fiction editor of Dragnet magazine, and now the fiction editor of This Magazine. He lives in Vancouver and Quadra Island. In 2017-2018, he will be Writer-in-Residence at the Regina Public Library.
Author profile page >
Editorial Reviews

"A surprisingly heartfelt story tucked inside a superbly oddball crime thriller."

— <i>Publishers Weekly</i>

"Great dialogue, a good story and some memorable individuals all contribute to making MARRY, BANG, KILL a winner in my book."

— <i>The Miramichi Reader</i>

"A sprawling, gonzo hide-and-seek narrative that will appeal to fans of Breaking Bad."

— <i>Quill & Quire</i>

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “MARRY, BANG, KILL”

Other Titles by Andrew Battershill

Pillow

Pillow

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged : literary, crime, noir
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...