Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Runaways

Last Sam's Cage

by (author) David A. Poulsen

Key Porter Books
Initial publish date
May 2007
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    May 2007
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2004
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Last Sam's Cage is the remarkable story of fifteen-year-old Eddie Slater. Already labeled a young offender, Eddie runs away from an abusive stepfather and takes up residence at the Calgary Zoo. There he meets Jack, a middle-aged man who has been coming to the zoo's playground every day for thirty-two years to watch the children. Convinced that Jack is either a pervert of just plain weird, Eddie follows him home one day, and eventually breaks into his house to see what he can find. He discovers more than he bargained for?and that discovery changes both Eddie and Jack for good.
Praise for Last Sam's Cage:
" uncommonly gripping young adult novel that will captivate the imagination and sentiment of the reader." - The Edmonton Journal
"...a moving portrait of a young man's journey from violence and isolation to a life that includes friendship and trust. We find ourselves rooting for him all the way." - Canadian Children's Book News
"...this hard-hitting book is a guaranteed eye-opener for anyone who has never called a discarded cardboard box home." - The Globe and Mail

About the author

David A. Poulsen has been a broadcaster, teacher, professional cowboy, football coach, stage and film actor and—most of all—writer. His writing career began in earnest when his story The Welcomin’ won the 1984 Alberta Culture Short Story Competition. Now the author of 27 books, many for middle readers and young adults, David spends 60 to 80 days a year in classrooms and libraries across Canada (and beyond) as a visiting author/presenter. The UBC Creative Writing alumnus and former Writer in Residence at the Saskatoon Public Library recently made his inaugural foray into the world of adult crime fiction with Serpents Rising, the best-selling first book in the Cullen and Cobb Mystery series. There are now four titles in the series and the fourth—None So Deadly—hit bookstores in the spring of 2019. The Man Called Teacher, coming in 2019, is his first adult western. David lives on a small ranch in Alberta’s foothills where he and his wife Barb raise and train running-bred quarter horses for barrel racing competitions.

David A. Poulsen's profile page

Other titles by David A. Poulsen