Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry General


Poems 1984 - 2001

by (author) Victor Coleman

Initial publish date
Oct 2006
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2006
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


All the sections of ICON TACT were conceived as book-length single texts or serial poems; some of them were published as such in limited editions either by the author (as The Eternal Network) or by other micro presses. This book reflects a tradition Coleman has followed since Coach House released CORRECTIONS in 1985. ICON TACT represents the end of what Coleman considers to be his “conventional? poetry cycle, during which only AMERICA reflects his current concerns with Oulipian constraints and poetry as a kind of word sculpture. LETTER DROP (2000) and MI SING (BookThug, 2005) represent one half of a four book set of which the third (based on Mallarms prose) is currently in progress. The fourth book will be concerned with the writing and the lives of the Troubadours.

About the author

Victor Coleman is the author of numerous books of poetry, starting with the 1964 publication of From Erik Satie's Notes to the Music, through CORRECTIONS (1985), LAPSED WASP (1994), and ICON TACT (2006). He was a founding editor of both Coach House Press (in 1965) and Coach House Books (in 1997) and has laboured as a film programmer, director of an artist run centre, and co-director and programmer for a musical performance centre, all in Toronto. He currently toils as a free-lance editor and a part-time cook at a downtown social service facility. Sometime in 2009 The University of California Press will release his (and Michael Boughn's) edit of Robert Duncan's The H.D. Book.

Victor Coleman's profile page

Other titles by Victor Coleman