Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Short Stories (single Author)

How to Swallow a Pig

by (author) Robert Priest

Publisher
ECW Press
Initial publish date
Sep 2004
Category
Short Stories (single author), General
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781550226492
    Publish Date
    Nov 2004
    List Price
    $16.95
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781554902545
    Publish Date
    Sep 2004
    List Price
    $11.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

 

Bizarre sexual parables, hilarious science fiction, fables, text-tangles, dirty stories, lush love letters, re-visionary fairy tales, predictions,strange new games, dream transcripts, and a complete handbook of absurdist instructions, including one on the dangerous arts of pig-swallowing. With all the lyricism and wit which have made his columns in NOW magazine and his Dr. Poetry segments on CBC’s Wordbeat so entertaining and provocative, this collection gathers for the first time the very best of Robert Priest’s short prose. A fabulist in the tradition of Borges and Cortazar, he brings to these postcard pieces the same poignant, and twisted but brilliant sensibility which has made him one of the most entertaining and challenging poets of his generation.

 

About the author

Robert Priest is known as a poet for both adults and children and has been published widely and internationally. He is also a performing musician, a songwriter and playwright (creator of the well-loved children’s play Knights of the Endless Day) and leads literacy workshops in schools. He has released numerous recordings for children with the musical group The Teds and a spoken word CD. Robert Priest lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Robert Priest's profile page

Other titles by Robert Priest