Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Young Adult Fiction Contemporary

How to Live without You

by (author) Sarah Everett

Publisher
HarperCollins
Initial publish date
May 2022
Category
Contemporary, Coming of Age, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Siblings
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9780358256229
    Publish Date
    May 2022
    List Price
    $23.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12

Description

In this heart-wrenching coming-of-age story about family, grief, and second chances, seventeen-year-old Emmy returns home for the summer to uncover the truth behind her sister Rose’s disappearance—only to learn that Rose had many secrets, ones that have Emmy questioning herself and the sister Emmy thought she knew.

When her sister Rose disappeared, seventeen-year-old Emmy lost a part of herself. Everyone else seems convinced she ran away and will reappear when she’s ready, but Emmy isn’t so sure. That doesn’t make sense for the Rose she knew: effervescent, caring, and strong-willed. So Emmy returns to their Ohio hometown for a summer, determined to uncover clues that can lead her back to Rose once and for all.

But what Emmy finds is a string of secrets and lies that she never thought possible, casting the person she thought she knew best in a whole new light. Reeling with confusion, Emmy decides to step into Rose’s life. She reconnects with their childhood best friend and follows in Rose’s last known footsteps with heart-wrenching consequences.

An honest and intimate look at sisterhood and the dark side of growing up, Sarah Everett’s latest novel is a stunning portrayal of how you can never truly know the ones you love.

About the author

Sarah Everett is the author of The Probability of Everything as well as several books for teens. Charlotte’s Web was the first book that ever made her cry, and while she despises spiders, she still has an abiding love of stories that move her. When she is not reading or writing, she is dreaming about summer, gearing up for her next travel adventure, perfecting her tree pose, or yodeling with her dog. She lives in western Canada.

Sarah Everett's profile page

Awards

  • Unknown, Bank Street Children’s Best Books of the Year

Editorial Reviews

“Everett displays prowess in conveying immediate emotion…making this novel hard to put down. An excellent choice for fans of Nina LaCour, Katie Cotugno, and John Green.”
Booklist (starred review)

“A compelling exploration of mental illness and family dynamics.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A riveting, thought-provoking read that examines the effects of mental health on familial bonds.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Comprising equal parts mystery and tender coming-of-age story, this work adeptly pulls readers into Emmy’s journey as she considers the many facets of growing up and knowing the ones you love.” — School Library Journal

Other titles by Sarah Everett