Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Death & Dying

How Jack Lost Time

by (author) Stéphanie Lapointe

illustrated by Delphie Cote-Lacroix

translated by Arielle Aaronson

Publisher
Greystone Books Ltd
Initial publish date
Oct 2020
Category
Death & Dying, General, General
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781771647571
    Publish Date
    Oct 2020
    List Price
    $26.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7

Description

“An artful and timeless exploration of love, loss, grief, and family, How Jack Lost Time will appeal to readers of Charlie Mackesy’s The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse, and other picture books for older readers and adults. 

Jack is not like other sea captains. Fishermen say he’s weird, but Jack only cares about one thing: the grey whale with the scarred dorsal fin, the one who swallowed up his son, Julos, years before. Jack promises he will not come home without Julos, even if it means losing himself in the process. Then, on a night like any other, Jack sees something lurking around his boat. He throws himself into the whale’s dark mouth. But is he too late? Will his son recognize him after years of being alone?

Poignant, original, and vibrant, this contemporary nautical fable journeys into the heart of the human spirit, and will move readers young and old.

Winner of the 2019 Governor General’s Award for Youth Literature—French Language

About the authors

STÉPHANIE LAPOINTE is a singer and actress who has produced three solo albums and is involved in various television, theater and film productions. She has co-directed several documentaries abroad for Radio Canada International and Care Canada. She is also the author of the young adult novel, Victoria. Stéphanie lives in Montreal.

 

Stéphanie Lapointe's profile page

Delphie Cote-Lacroix's profile page

ARIELLE AARONSON left her native New Jersey in 2007 to pursue a diploma in Translation Studies at Concordia University in Montreal. She holds an M.A. in Second Language Education from McGill University and has spent the past few years teaching English in the Montreal public school system and creating educational material for second language learners. She previously translated Marie-Renée Lavoie’s Autopsy of a Boring Wife and A Boring Wife Settles the Score for Arachnide.

 

Arielle Aaronson's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"[How Jack Lost Time] offers an affecting, devastating portrayal of the reverberating impacts of loss."
— Booklist

The nautical narrative promises to be quirky, mature, and quite sad."
— Quill & Quire

Other titles by Stéphanie Lapointe

Other titles by Delphie Cote-Lacroix

Other titles by Arielle Aaronson

Related lists