On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771647571_interior Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $26.95
edition:Hardcover
published: Oct 2020
ISBN:9781771647571

How Jack Lost Time

by Stéphanie Lapointe, illustrated by Delphie Côté-Lacroix, translated by Arielle Aaronson

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
death & dying
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $26.95
edition:Hardcover
published: Oct 2020
ISBN:9781771647571
Description

“An artful and timeless exploration of love, loss, grief, and family, How Jack Lost Time will appeal to readers of Charlie Mackesy’s The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse, and other picture books for older readers and adults. 

Jack is not like other sea captains. Fishermen say he’s weird, but Jack only cares about one thing: the grey whale with the scarred dorsal fin, the one who swallowed up his son, Julos, years before. Jack promises he will not come home without Julos, even if it means losing himself in the process. Then, on a night like any other, Jack sees something lurking around his boat. He throws himself into the whale’s dark mouth. But is he too late? Will his son recognize him after years of being alone?

Poignant, original, and vibrant, this contemporary nautical fable journeys into the heart of the human spirit, and will move readers young and old.

Winner of the 2019 Governor General’s Award for Youth Literature—French Language

About the Authors

Stéphanie Lapointe is a singer and actress who has produced three solo albums and is involved in various television, theater and film productions. She has co-directed several documentaries abroad for Radio Canada International and Care Canada. She is also the author of the young adult novel, Victoria. Stéphanie lives in Montreal.

Author profile page >

Delphie Côté-Lacroix is a multidisciplinary visual artist with a background in graphic design. She uses simple composition and a limited color palette to creates images that are delicate yet impactful. She lives and work out of Montreal, Quebec. For more information, visit www.delphiecotelacroix.com.
Author profile page >

ARIELLE AARONSON left her native New Jersey in 2007 to pursue a diploma in Translation Studies at Concordia University in Montreal. She holds an M.A. in Second Language Education from McGill University and has spent the past few years teaching English in the Montreal public school system and creating educational material for second language learners. This is her first translation for Arachnide.
Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

STÉPHANIE LAPOINTE is a singer, actress, documentary director, and author from Montreal. She won the Grand Prix Lux Infopresse and Governor General’s Award for Young People’s Literature—Illustrated Books in 2016 with Grand-père et la Lune (Grandfather and the Moon), illustrated by Rogé.

DELPHIE CÔTÉ-LACROIX is a multidisciplinary visual artist with a background in graphic design. She uses simple composition and a limited color palette to create images that are delicate yet impactful.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
9 to 12
Grade:
4 to 7

Buy this book at:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “How Jack Lost Time”

Other Titles by Stéphanie Lapointe

Other Titles by Delphie Côté-Lacroix

Florence & Leon

Florence & Leon

edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook
More Info

Other Titles by Arielle Aaronson

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...