Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Horror & Ghost Stories

Haunted: Field of Screams

by (author) Joel A. Sutherland

Publisher
Independent Publishers Group, Scholastic Canada Ltd
Initial publish date
Feb 2019
Category
Horror & Ghost Stories, Paranormal, Ghost Stories
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443163231
    Publish Date
    Jan 2019
    List Price
    $8.99
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781443163248
    Publish Date
    Feb 2019
    List Price
    $8.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7

Description

Prepare to scream!

Darius is excited that his cousin, Ryan, is coming to stay for a weekend in October. Though they used to be close, Darius hasn't seen his cousin since Ryan moved to Vancouver from central B.C. several years before. The visit doesn't get off to a good start. Ryan has changed and can't stop talking about how much better the city is than the country.

Eager to win back his favour, Darius plans a trip to Scarecrow Farm, a local farm that morphs into a Halloween attraction each fall. The boys used to love visiting when they were younger. Only Scarecrow Farm is nothing like they remember and seems to have fallen on hard times. It's not long before they become disorientated and lost in the corn maze. Just as they're beginning to panic, they come across a younger boy who seems even more lost . . . not in the maze, but in this plane of existence!

Can Darius and Ryan escape before they become the latest two victims of the corn maze?

Haunted is a middle-grade fiction series set in towns and cities across Canada. Packed with action, genuine chills, and some healthy doses of humour to cut the tension, it's perfect for fans of Goosebumps and Haunted Canada! Prepare to scream!

About the author

Joel A. Sutherland est bibliothécaire de référence le jour et se métamorphose en auteur d'histoires d'horreur la nuit. Il a écrit le roman Lieux hantés 5, Be a Writing Superstar!, et Frozen Blood, un roman d'horreur pour adultes. Joel vit à Courtice, en Ontario.

 

JOEL A. SUTHERLAND is the Silver Birch and Hackmatack Award-winning author of numerous Haunted Canada books and the Red Maple Award Honour Book Summer’s End. His middle-grade fiction series, Haunted, has been praised by Goosebumps author R.L. Stine. Joel lives with his family in southeastern Ontario where he works as a library manager and is always on the lookout for ghosts. Visit him online at www.joelasutherland.com.

Joel A. Sutherland's profile page

Editorial Reviews

Praise for the Haunted series:

 "What could be scarier than moving next-door to a haunted house? How about a ghost horse? How about a ghastly murder or two? This book is CHILLING. Loved it!" -R.L. Stine, author of Goosebumps

Other titles by Joel A. Sutherland