Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Canadian

Four Sufferings, The

shiku hakku

by (author) Terry Watada

Mawenzi House Publishers Ltd.
Initial publish date
Oct 2020
Canadian, General
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2020
    List Price
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Oct 2020
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Shiku hakku in Japanese means to endure, an expression that originates in Buddhism. This collection links Terry Watada's past and present while acknowledging the fundamental suffering of human existence--in birth, aging, illness, and death--and the suffering endured in daily living--common frustrations, desire, separation. But at the same time it celebrates love, and in the end seeks an enlightened state of acceptance. Rise above life's hardships and rejoice in the state of life is the overall theme of this collection.

About the author

Terry Watada is the author of numerous books of history, fiction, and poetry, including Daruma Days, Ten Thousand Views of Rain, Seeing the Invisible, and Bukkyo Tozen: A History of Buddhism in Canada. His latest poetry book is Obon: The Festival Of the Dead. He lives in Toronto.

Terry Watada's profile page

Other titles by Terry Watada