On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780385683043_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $29.95
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: April 2020
ISBN:9780385683043
publisher: Doubleday Canada

Forest Green

by Kate Pullinger

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
literary, coming of age, family life
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $29.95
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: April 2020
ISBN:9780385683043
publisher: Doubleday Canada
Description

For readers of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler, a powerful, heartrending novel about a man on the run from himself, by Governor General's Award-winning author Kate Pullinger.

On a rain-soaked Vancouver sidewalk in 1995, a homeless man fights for breath. Forest Green is the story of how he ended up there.

Arthur Lunn is a golden boy who spends long summer days roaming the hills and swimming in the lakes of the Okanagan Valley. But the Great Depression is destroying lives, even in Art's remote and bucolic hometown. Soon, Art finds himself caught up in a battle between the town and the vagrants flowing through it, and before long the tension reaches a boiling point.

A catastrophe follows--and changes everything. The trauma from this event shapes and haunts Art's life moving forward, from his experiences as a soldier in World War II to his reckless, nomadic working days in logging camps across British Columbia to his turbulent relationship with his one great love--a woman he cannot believe he deserves.

Painful, poignant, yet full of hope, Forest Green explores how trauma can warp our lives while love can help us to mend.

Contributor Notes

KATE PULLINGER grew up in British Columbia. In 2009, her novel The Mistress of Nothing won the Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction. Her prize-winning digital fiction projects include the ground-breaking title for children Inanimate Alice and, most recently, a ghost story for smartphones, Breathe. Flight Paths: A Networked Novel was the inspiration for her 2014 novel, Landing Gear. She is currently Professor of Creative Writing and Digital Media at Bath Spa University, England. Forest Green is her tenth novel.

Editorial Review

Advance Praise for Forest Green:

"Kate Pullinger renders Art Lunn's tumultuous life in episodes that have the clarity of tree rings. This slim, engrossing novel holds worlds, and its complicated central character is offered up to us with deep and unwavering empathy." —Catherine Bush, bestselling author of The Rules of Engagement, Claire's Head and Blaze Island
 
"At the same time intimate and sweeping, Forest Green tells the story of a single man's life, and the history of a family, an industry, a nation. Pullinger expertly and sensitively reveals the different stages of her character's life, and the way it has been shaped by both inside and outside pressures." —Johanna Skibsrud, award-winning author of The Sentimentalists and Island

"Childhood wonder and promise collide with a day whose lifelong repercussions Springsteen might have penned had he decided to turn to prose and reimagine Nesbit's The Railway Children. Pullinger's new novel is a freedom song for the working man." —Kathleen Winter, #1 bestselling author of Annabel and Lost in September

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...