On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781897066676_author Enlarge Cover
5 of 5
1 rating
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.95
edition:Paperback
published: Sep 2006
ISBN:9781897066676
publisher: Owlkids Books Inc.
imprint: Maple Tree

Fear This Book

Your Guide to Fright, Horror, & Things That Go Bump in the Night

by Jeff Szpirglas, illustrated by Ramón Pérez

reviews: 1
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
curiosities & wonders, folklore & mythology
5 of 5
1 rating
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.95
edition:Paperback
published: Sep 2006
ISBN:9781897066676
publisher: Owlkids Books Inc.
imprint: Maple Tree
Description

What do we fear? And why? What happens in our bodies and brains when we feel frightened? Readers will be on the edge of their seats as a barrage of fascinating information comes flying their way. Meticulous research and a wide-ranging look at the subject introduce readers to fear facts from around the world and through time. Hilarious but always enlightening dialogues between characters Bloodthirsty Vampire and Terrifying Monster appear throughout the book, engaging readers on everything from a fear of the number 13 (triskaidekaphobia) to zombies and papercuts. What’s Scarier? cartoon strips ponder the question about two parallel things and bonus features include a patch of 100% PURE DARK to help readers overcome their fear of the dark, a Fairy Tale Survival Guide, a horror film manual for the directors of tomorrow, and quizzes to test knowledge of phobia names. Brace yourself. Hold someone’s hand for comfort if you need to. When you’re ready, pick up the book, take your finger, and open up to the first page…IF YOU DARE! But don’t say you haven’t been warned.…

About the Authors

Jeff Szpirglas

JEFF SZPIRGLAS is the critically acclaimed author of Gross Universe and Fear this Book, among others. His stories have been published in Chirp and chickaDEE magazines, where he also worked as a kids’ page editor. He has written for the television series' Polka Dot Shorts, Ricky’s Room, and System Crash, and co-produced two radio pieces for CBC’s Out Front. He lives in Toronto, where he influences young minds on a daily basis as an elementary school teacher.
Author profile page >

Ramón Pérez

RAMÓN PÉREZ has illustrated for Marvel, DC Comics, and OWL Magazine. He lives in Toronto.
Author profile page >
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
8 to 12
Grade:
3 to 6
Awards
  • Short-listed, British Columbia Library Association, Red Cedar Book Award
  • Short-listed, Atlantic Library Association, Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award
  • Commended, Ontario Library Association, Silver Birch Award, Honor Book
  • Commended, Canadian Children's Book Centre, Our Choice Selection
Editorial Reviews

…fright-hungry kids will devour the mountain of terrifying horrors waiting to be discovered inside this book. Fans of Szpirglas' Gross Universe and They Did What?! will welcome this addition to this fun and fact-packed series.

— Canadian Bookseller

Szpirglas is a veritable expert at goose bumps.

— School Library Journal

There’s lots to learn and lots to laugh about in this rousing read.

— The Telegram (St. John’s)

From ghosts to superstitions to mythological monsters, Szpirglas covers a wide range of scary topics but offers up a host of fascinating facts and fun info.

— Today’s Parent

Witty and succinct…

— Star Phoenix (Saskatoon)

A book filled with funny drawings and creepy facts — what more could a thrill-seeking kid want?

— Chronicle Herald

[Szpirglas] is in tune with what fascinates kids and knows how to write in language that will grab them and keep their interest. Perez’s vibrant, cartoonish illustrations are perfect as well, with enough vampires, ghosts and Frankenstein images to make this a Halloween hit.

— San Francisco Chronicle

With fun trivia and comic-book style artwork that oscillates between funny and scary, [Fear This Book] provides plenty to pore over.

— Publishers Weekly

Szpirglas and Perez did an excellent job! From the eye-catching cover to the easy-to-read format, Fear This Book will encourage readers of all ages to learn something new. With hundreds of interesting facts, this has to be my favourite non-fiction book ever. I definitely suggest this book to anyone and everyone.” Jordan gives Fear This Book 5 spine-tingling stars!

— Sarah’s Stars

Out of print

This edition is not currently available in bookstores. Check your local library or search for used copies at Abebooks.

Reader Reviews

Canadian Children's  Book Centre
Librarian review

Fear This Book: Your Guide to Fright, Horror, & Things That Go Bump in the Night

Fear gets fun as readers delve into spinetingling facts about scary stuff – including superstitions, ghosts, monsters, spiders, nightmares, horror movies and more.

Source: The Canadian Children’s Book Centre. Canadian Children’s Book News. 2007.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Jeff Szpirglas

Gross Universe

Gross Universe

Your Guide to All Disgusting Things Under the Sun
by Jeff Szpirglas
illustrated by Michael Cho
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
tagged : biology
More Info
Wild Cards

Wild Cards

by Jeff Szpirglas
illustrated by Dave Whamond
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

Other Titles by Ramón Pérez

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...