Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Literary Criticism Ancient & Classical

Eros the Bittersweet

by (author) Anne Carson

introduction by Sandra Newman

Publisher
Deep Vellum
Initial publish date
Aug 2022
Category
Ancient & Classical
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781564781888
    Publish Date
    Mar 1998
    List Price
    $19.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781628973860
    Publish Date
    Aug 2022
    List Price
    $25.5

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time

A book about romantic love, Eros the Bittersweet is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly entertaining, Eros is an utterly original book.

About the authors

Anne Carson was born in Canada and teaches ancient Greek for a living. A former MacArthur Fellow, awards for her numerous books include the T.S. Eliot Prize and The Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Red Doc> was recently awarded the Griffin Poetry Prize and the inaugural Folio Prize. Her first full poetry collection, Short Talks, was published by Brick Books in 1992 and was presented as a new edition in 2015: SHORT TALKS: BRICK BOOKS CLASSICS 1.

Anne Carson's profile page

Sandra Newman's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"Anne Carson is a rare talent, brilliant and full of wit, passionate and also deeply moving."—Michael Ondaatje

"What we learn from Eros the Bittersweet while being spun alive by its brilliance is that its author is a philosopher of much cunning and an agile reader, a scholar with a mind as fresh as a spring meadow, no dust anywhere on her."—Guy Davenport

Other titles by Anne Carson