On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781250317735_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $13.5
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: May 2020
ISBN:9781250317735
publisher: Tor/Forge
imprint: Tor Teen

Dark Shores

by Danielle L. Jensen

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $13.5
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: May 2020
ISBN:9781250317735
publisher: Tor/Forge
imprint: Tor Teen
Description

High seas adventure, blackmail, and meddling gods meet inDark Shores, a thrilling first novel in a fast-paced new YA fantasy series byUSA Today bestselling author Danielle L. Jensen.
In a world divided by meddlesome gods and treacherous oceans, only the Maarin possess the knowledge to cross the Endless Seas. But they have one mandate: East must never meet West.
A SAILOR WITH A WILL OF IRON
Teriana is the second mate of theQuincenseand heir to the Maarin Triumvirate. Her people are born of the seas and the keepers of its secrets, but when her closest friend is forced into an unwanted betrothal, Teriana breaks her people’s mandate so her friend might escape—a choice with devastating consequences.
A SOLDIER WITH A SECRET
Marcus is the commander of the Thirty-Seventh, the notorious legion that has led the Celendor Empire to conquer the entire East. The legion is his family, but even they don’t know the truth he’s been hiding since childhood. It’s a secret he’ll do anything to protect, no matter how much it costs him – and the world.
A DANGEROUS QUEST
When an Empire senator discovers the existence of the Dark Shores, he captures Teriana’s crew and threatens to reveal Marcus’s secret unless they sail in pursuit of conquest, forcing the two into an unlikely—and unwilling—alliance. They unite for the sake of their families, but both must decide how far they are willing to go, and how much they are willing to sacrifice.
Readers may read eitherDark Shores orDark Skies first!
Suggested series reading order:
1.Dark Skies orDark Shores
2.Dark Shores orDark Skies
3.Gilded Serpent(coming spring 2021)

About the Author

Danielle L. Jensen

Danielle was born and raised in Calgary, Canada. At the insistence of the left side of her brain, she graduated in 2003 from the University of Calgary with a bachelor’s degree in finance. But the right side of her brain has ever been mutinous; and in 2010, it sent her back to school to complete an entirely impractical English literature degree at Mount Royal University and to pursue publication. Much to her satisfaction, the right side shows no sign of relinquishing its domination.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

DANIELLE L. JENSEN was born and raised in Calgary, Canada. She graduated from the University of Calgary with a bachelor’s degree in finance, then went back to school to complete an English literature degree at Mount Royal University. She is theUSA Today bestselling author of The Malediction Trilogy:Stolen Songbird,Hidden Huntress, andWarrior Witch (Angry Robot).

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
13 to 18
Grade:
8 to 13
Editorial Review

“Richly-woven, evocative, and absolutely impossible to put down—I was hooked from the first lines!Dark Shoreshas everything I look for in a fantasy novel: fresh, unique settings, a cast of complex and diverse characters, and an unflinching boldness with the nuanced world-building. I loved every word.”—Sarah J. Maas, #1New York Timesbestselling author
"The book grabs readers from the beginning with its stellar worldbuilding and multidimensional characters, and the mythical elements are truly believable within the constructs of the story. The perspective shifts between the viewpoints of Teriana and Marcus from chapter to chapter, offering readers greater insights into each. ...A gripping introduction to a new series."—Kirkus Reviews (starred)
"This epic first installment in a new series from Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy) features stunning worldbuilding, a vivid cast of secondary characters, and a steamy slow-burn romance between two exceedingly competent and compelling heroes.Dark Shores is not one to miss."—Booklist
"This is a lush, imaginative world, and as the focus shifts between Teriana and Marcus, it becomes clear that the readers are only getting a glimpse of its complicated history and mythology. ...Their secrets don’t, of course, stop Teriana and Marcus from embarking on a steamy romance, and fans of Rutkoski’s sighworthyThe Winner’s Kissand the high-stakes sea adventure of Levenseller’sDaughter of the Pirate King will want to know where Marcus and Teriana journey to next." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"The plot's twists and turns and fantastical elements add to the allure of this thrilling story. VERDICT Exhilarating fantasy-adventure romance for fans of Tricia Levenseller'sDaughter of the Pirate King, Alexandra Christo'sTo Kill a Kingdom, or Natalie C. Parker'sSeafire. Readers will eagerly await the next book in the series."
School Library Journal

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...