Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Native American & Aboriginal

Crow Winter

A Novel

by (author) Karen McBride

Publisher
HarperCollins
Initial publish date
Sep 2021
Category
Native American & Aboriginal, General
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443459679
    Publish Date
    Sep 2019
    List Price
    $22.99
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781443459686
    Publish Date
    Sep 2019
    List Price
    $11.99
  • CD-Audio

    ISBN
    9781713586289
    Publish Date
    Dec 2020
    List Price
    $36.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443459693
    Publish Date
    Sep 2021
    List Price
    $18.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

Nanabush. A name that has a certain weight on the tongue—a taste. Like lit sage in a windowless room or aluminum foil on a metal filling.

Trickster. Storyteller. Shape-shifter. An ancient troublemaker with the power to do great things, only he doesn’t want to put in the work.

Since coming home to Spirit Bear Point First Nation, Hazel Ellis has been dreaming of an old crow. He tells her he’s here to help her, save her. From what, exactly? Sure, her dad’s been dead for almost two years and she hasn’t quite reconciled that grief, but is that worth the time of an Algonquin demigod?

Soon Hazel learns that there’s more at play than just her own sadness and doubt. The quarry that’s been lying unsullied for over a century on her father’s property is stirring the old magic that crosses the boundaries between this world and the next. With the aid of Nanabush, Hazel must unravel a web of deceit that, if left untouched, could destroy her family and her home on both sides of the Medicine Wheel.

About the author

KAREN McBRIDE is an Algonquin Anishinaabe writer from the Timiskaming First Nation in the territory that is now Quebec. She holds a bachelor of arts in music and English, a bachelor of education from the University of Ottawa and a master of arts in creative writing from the University of Toronto. Karen works as an elementary school teacher on her home reserve. Crow Winter is her first novel. 

Karen McBride's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"For fans of Eden Robinson and Tracey Lindberg, this debut from Algonquin Anishinaabe writer McBride is one to watch.”

Globe and Mail (Toronto)

"An enchanting page turner."

Elle (Canada)

“Full of spirit, love, mystery and good medicine, Crow Winter tells the story of Hazel and one very tricky little crow. Karen McBride’s debut novel ambitiously and successfully balances all these things creating a world and story that will stay with you after you have turned that last page.”

Katherena Vermette, award-winning author of <em>The Break</em>