On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781460404409_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $10.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: March 2014
ISBN:9781460404409
publisher: Broadview Press
imprint: Freehand Books

Boundary Problems

by Greg Bechtel

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
short stories (single author), literary
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $10.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: March 2014
ISBN:9781460404409
publisher: Broadview Press
imprint: Freehand Books
Description

In his confident debut, Greg Bechtel offers ten charged stories about the impossible-turned-possible—secrets, paranoia, sex, conspiracies, and magic—that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, China Mieville, Barbara Gowdy, and Jonathan Lethem, and readers of both speculative fiction and literary fiction alike.

Boundary Problems vibrates on the edge of meaning, as carjackers, accidental gunrunners, small-town cabbies, academics researching erotica, and confused physics students struggle to wring meaning from the strange events that overtake them. Bechtel's worlds of mystery, physics, and magic constantly challenge his characters’ pursuit of logical explanations. These compelling tales constantly blur lines and push boundaries—into the surreal, into the playful, into the irresistibility of uncertainty.

About the Author

Greg Bechtel's occasionally prize-winning stories have appeared in several journals and anthologies, including The Fiddlehead, Prairie Fire, On Spec, Qwerty, and the Tesseracts anthologies of speculative fiction. Originally from Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Greg has lived at various times in Toronto, Deep River, Jamaica, Ottawa, Quebec City, and Fredericton while working (among other things) as a lifeguard, technical writer, mover, visual basic programmer, camp counsellor, semiconductor laser labtech, cab driver, tutor, and teacher. Currently, he lives and writes in Edmonton, where he teaches English Literature and Creative Writing at the University of Alberta whenever they let him. Boundary Problems is his first book.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Greg Bechtel's award-winning stories have appeared in several journals and anthologies, including The Fiddlehead, Prairie Fire, On Spec, Qwerty, and the Tesseracts anthologies of speculative fiction, and one was nominated for the Journey Prize. Bechtel completed his PhD on the intersections between Canadian fantasy, fantasy theory, genre theory, cognitive science and syncretism at the University of Alberta, where he now teaches English literature and creative writing.

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...