On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443434454_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $29.99
edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2015
ISBN:9781443434454
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperAvenue

Book Of Sands

A novel of the Arab uprising

by Karim Alrawi

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $29.99
edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2015
ISBN:9781443434454
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperAvenue
Description

The inaugural winner of the HarperCollins/UBC Prize for Best New Fiction

This powerful, lyrical novel of the endurance of love is set amid the upheaval of the Arab Spring and the brutal repression of a totalitarian regime. Tarek, a young father, watches as the city he lives in is mired in protests, hemmed in by barricades and strangely inundated by great flocks of birds. Facing the threat of police arrest, he flees with his nine-year-old daughter, Neda. He is forced to leave behind his pregnant wife, Mona, under the watchful eye of Omar, her deeply troubled and religious brother. Compounding the difficulties of these times, babies refuse to be born and mothers stop giving birth.

As Tarek and Nada journey through villages razed by conflict towards a mountain refuge, they meet with fellow travellers from Tarek’s past and his time as a political prisoner. The reunion reveals secrets that Tarek must come to terms with for his own and Neda’s sake. Ultimately, he must decide where this journey will take them and if he will ever be able to return home again.

In the tradition of Salman Rushdie’s Midnight's Children and Orhan Pamuk’s Snow, debut novelist Karim Alrawi deftly weaves an atmospheric, multi-layered story of intimate lives, informed by recent events and heightened by touches of magic realism, set against the wider canvas of historic events.

About the Author
Karim Alrawi is the author of the award-winning picture book The Girl Who Lost her Smile. He is the editor-in-chief of Arabica, the English language magazine for the Arab-American community. He is also playwright-in-residence at Meadow Brook Theatre in Michigan. He has over 30 professionally-produced plays to his credit and has won many national and international awards for his writing. Bee Willey has illustrated over 20 children’s books with co-editions in Canada, Italy, Denmark, Spain, Korea, and the US. Bee illustrated the award-winning The Zoo at Night written by Michael Rosen. In 2004, she was short-listed for the prestigious Kate Greenaway Prize.
Author profile page >
Editorial Review

“Absorbing. . . .Alrawi’s writing is lyrical and intricate; the evocation of a grimy Arab city suffocated by pollution and corruption very real.”

— Toronto Star

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Book Of Sands”

Other Titles by Karim Alrawi

Book of Sands

Book of Sands

A novel of the Arab uprising
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
tagged :
More Info
The Girl Who Lost Her Smile

The Girl Who Lost Her Smile

edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
tagged :
More Info
The Mouse Who Saved Egypt

The Mouse Who Saved Egypt

by Karim Alrawi
illustrated by Bee Willey
edition:Hardcover
also available: Hardcover
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...